Posted by: purityseekers | January 29, 2008

Lots of Pix…

Hi Everyone!! I am finally taking some quiet time and posting for the 1st time in a LOOOOONG time!!

I have missed hearing from you all and sharing my life with you!!!

I’ll start by saying that it has been a LOOOOONG winter and I think that is one of the reasons for my lack of energy and motivation to get on here and post!!! SORRY!!!!

I am going to try to catch up on a few cute pix before my youngest son wakes up from his nap! We visited some new friends this AM (Hi, Tara, if you are reading this!) and “E” fell asleep on the way home so I tucked him into my bed in hopes that he’ll feel super cozy in my down comforter and sleep the afternoon away!! They played hard and the quiet is good for all of us!
Β 
Getting used to a new blog is a bit time consuming and I feel like a major blog-baby, but I am figuring things out little by little πŸ™‚ I managed to learn the most important part for me…. HOW TO POST PICTURES!!!!

One thing I have really worked hard on for the last few weeks is getting the kids doing more chores! I got this handy dandy dry erase board and rotate the jobs for the kids every week. (the stars are just done in my photo program to block out my kids names πŸ˜‰

Photobucket

Each child has certain jobs they always do, but these are the jobs that will rotate. My youngest daughter (at the bottom of the board) doesn’t rotate…she just helps Mommy out. And my youngest son isn’t even on the board (sorry, “E”) because he really doesn’t care… BUT…he helps out a lot!!!
Β 
Here he is washing the potty! Not bad for a 2 year old! Who says little kids can’t do chores???? He had a blast!! I ended up giving him a sponge and he even washed all over the seat and then washed the sink for me!! I am one proud Mama!!!

Photobucket
Β 
They sell great chalkboard paint that you can have tinted…so we went with the “Schoolhouse Green” color… here’s Daddy painting…
Β 
Photobucket

We’ve also been focusing more on schooling. I am still VERY relaxed, but needed a bit more to motivate me to at least sit down here and there and do schoolstuff. So… I thought it would be cool to have a chalkboard in our Dining Room / Schoolroom. We have a big map in there, so I got the idea to put the chalkboard under the map to save space!

Β 

Β 

and checking out his project results…

Photobucket

It took a couple days to set, so we just continued on with life πŸ™‚ The kids always have fun painting…And since I am a lover of hands on stuff, instead of lots of sit down schoolwork… I love things like gluing stuff like all this wooden stuff I got Big Guy “C” for Christmas…

Photobucket

He ended up making a bridge…

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket

And Big Girl “Z” has been doing a bit of sewing here and there. One day she decided she wanted to make a stuffed ghost…so I got some stuff together and helped her put her idea into action!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Here’s the finished stuffie!! She even made a little apron for it!! She is so creative!!! ( I helped her with a lot of the sewing, but she did a lot of it herself!)

Photobucket

She also loves to help in the kitchen. Here she is helping me make one of our famous “Spinach Smoothies”…

Photobucket

Photobucket

And I got some cute pictures of Daddy coloring with Middle Boy “A”…(while “E” hung out on the table and made his own pictures)…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Their masterpiece…

Photobucket

One day “Z” decided she wanted to learn how to make an elastic ball… so I got a small rubber ball & some elastics and she went to town…

Photobucket

Photobucket

that’s my kinda homeschoolin’…

Photobucket

Then the chalkboard was ready to use! One of the first things I did was go over “shapes” and then I showed the older kids how to make 3D type shapes!

Photobucket
Photobucket

The chalkboard has been such a blessing because the kids love to play school! And it’s so easy for me to demonstate certain things to them with it! I have a dry erase board in the same room, but really like chalk much better! I can leave the chalk laying around and don’t have to worry about my little guy writing all over the walls with it like I would with the dry erase markers!

AND my older kids can teach my younger kids more easily and that gives me more time to KNIT!!!!! hehe

Oh my goodness, I just have so many pictures I want to share!!!! I haven’t actually posted any pictures since Jan.5th!! Can you believe it????

I went to the dollar store one day and got an alphabet border…but I didn’t want to use it FOR a border…but for some cool flashcards! So I got out my trusty paper cutter and went to work…

Photobucket

I love them because they are simple and colorful (my favorite earthy tones too!) and I can easily just hand one to a child to study or copy, etc.

Photobucket

I’ve also been doing my knitting projects here and there! One thing I really enjoy these days are Dishcloth KAL’s (knitalongs). I am part of a yahoo group that has 2 a month and these are the 2 from this month…
Photobucket

A football dishcloth in honor of football season (I gave this one to my friend, Katherine, who is a spoiled brat!!)

And I JUST finally hid all the ends on this diamond dishcloth because I gave it to my friend, Summer πŸ™‚

Photobucket

AND… I finally finished my husbands socks and they fit perfectly!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

“What’s this?” you ask??? Well…it’s what I call a “pink coconut frosted cupcake hat”! My friend, Katherine, (the spoiled one), asked me if I could make a hat that looked like a cupcake. Her friend had told her about one she saw, so I found a pattern for one πŸ™‚ I decided to use some of my fancy fur yarn and spice it up a bit and here’s the finished product…

Photobucket

I will be sending it to Katherine’s daughter, Petra, but I made sure to take some pictures of my kids wearing it first. I’ll post this cute one of my little winky boy wearing it…

Photobucket

Here I am in my Fibonacci Scarf. I decided to hide all the little frilly ends that pattern has sticking out all over it. I like it looking more finished…

Photobucket

Gosh…I can’t decide what to post next!! haha I can’t be gone this long because I put myself in photo overload!!!!

I haven’t taken a pic of these longies in a few days, but here’s the pair I am almost done with. All I have left now is the little ribbed cuff at the end of the leg and then the i-cord drawstring! I’ll post a pic once they are done!

Photobucket

Now I will post a few pix today from our visit to Tara’s πŸ™‚ I HAD to take a picture of this because I fell in love with it!!! It’s a little kitchen set Tara’s Dad made for her kids and it’s soooooo cute!!! She inspired me when I saw all of her toys!!! She has nothing for little plastic toys (MY DREAM!!!) and all of the things her boys play with are handmade, wooden, etc. Right down to little wooden peas and carrots, knit fruits and veggies, wooden acorns, real kitchen stuff… SO MUCH FUN!!!!

This is my little “E” playing…

Photobucket

As many of you know, I have struggled BIG TIME with trying to keep our toys more simple and minimize all we have! I have decluttered a lot, but like I told Tara…I feel like we don’t have much of anything to play with now!! haha The kids play with Legos, blocks, cars, etc… but I like the idea of all the fun play stuff that is real to life! I am going to really think more about how to spruce up our house a bit when it comes to toys! I’d really like to get rid of the stuff we just never use once and for all and handmake more things!! We’ll see!! Thanks, Tara, for the inspiration!!!!

OK… here are all of our kids at lunchtime…what a bunch!! (and that’s Tara in the background) The only one that is hard to see is her middle boy that is on the floor getting into the cupboard to get pears! MMMMMM

Photobucket

This was a highlight of our visit…the cool swing!! Here’s “Z” having fun…until she got queezy from all the spinning!!! Doesn’t that look like a cozy place to sit???

Photobucket

Thank you, Tara, for such a great time!!! And it wore my kids out!!! We’ve had the most quiet afternoon!!

Well, I guess I should end here since my little man just strolled out of my room!!

Now that I have got the blog going and have figured out how to post, I will try to be on here more often πŸ™‚

And just quickly before I finish… my brother and his wife and kids made it safely to Costa Rica on Jan.1 and have started language school! Praise God!! You can read more and see pictures on their blog…http://www.thedennetts.blogspot.com/

Love, Bridget

Leave a Reply

Categories

