Posted by: purityseekers | August 23, 2011

Homemade Creamy Mac & Cheese Recipe

Homemade creamy mac & cheese.  Let’s make some total comfort food!!!!

I searched for a long time to find a really good recipe, and over the years I’ve tweaked recipe after recipe and came up with my favorite!

Last night, I decided to plan a tutorial.  I grabbed my camera and started cooking!

First, I boil macaroni.  (I like to add about half whole wheat pasta)  I used about 5 cups of dry and cook it for 10 minutes.  I also butter a 9X13″ pan! (I use a cold stick of butter, right out of the fridge, and rub it all over!)
Photobucket

Then, while the pasta is cooking, I shred a boatload (or a couple paper plate loads) of cheddar cheese: (and I save a chunk to shred to put on the top of the casserole!)
Photobucket

I also measure 2 cups of milk (hence the Homemade Creamy Mac & Cheese Recipe title!), scramble 3 eggs & get out the Lawry’s Seasoned Salt and Paprika. . .(and regular salt and pepper, which must have felt left out because I forgot to add them to the photo!)

Photobucket

Then I preheat my oven to 350 degrees.

Once my pasta is done, I strain it. . .
Photobucket

I take that same stick of butter and cut off a big chunk (I like that measurement term, “chunk”) and throw it into the pot I cooked the pasta in.  (when I think about how much butter to put in, I have flashbacks of my Kraft mac & cheese days!  I can’t believe the LITTLE amount of pasta in that LITTLE box, and how it called for a TON of butter!  As long as I use less than that, I’m happy. . .but I still throw in a big chunk (probably almost 1/2 a stick!) ~ I love butter!!!

Then I put the pasta back into the pot. . .

Photobucket

I add the cheese, a little salt and LOTS of pepper. . .and stir it up. . .
Photobucket

Then I stir in the milk & the eggs. . .
Photobucket

Then to add a little flavor and to color it up a bit. . .I stir in the other seasonings. . .(I don’t measure, I just make it look kinda like this. . .which is mostly Paprika!)
Photobucket

Then into the casserole dish it goes.  Cover it with that extra shredded chunk of cheese. Dot butter on top (look closely and you’ll see the little chunks…again…chunks) ~ I’m not really sure why I do this part.  My Mother always did because HER Mother always did…and so forth and so on.  I don’t care to know why because I won’t argue with extra butter, whatever the real reason is. . .
Photobucket

Cover it with tin foil.  Bake 1/2 hour covered.  Then take off the foil and bake 1/2 hour more!

Then forget to take a photo, serve it to your family, and then remember to take a photo. . .
Photobucket

**If you don’t have time for all this non-sense… don’t add the egg and just mix all the other stuff in and serve it just like that!  I tend to do that when I am knitting and look at the clock and realize it’s PAST dinnertime!  OOPS!

So, there ya have it!  My favorite Homemade Creamy Mac & Cheese Recipe!  Please comment if you try it!!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

