Posted by: purityseekers | June 20, 2010

father's day.

Phew! It is SOOOOOOOO hot today! The father in this house had to work, so I am spending my day cooking my little toasty fanny off so that when he gets home, we can have a fun dinner and desserts! My Dad & Mom are also coming over, so I am making my Dad’s favorite… lemon meringue pie! AND my Niece and her family are coming over after they spend time with her Husband’s Dad!

I found a great looking Lemon Meringue Pie recipe over at the Pioneer Woman’s “Tasty Kitchen” site! I am also baking homemade whole wheat bread (one loaf for lunch & one loaf for breadcrumbs 4 meatloaf), making a chocolate pie crust from scratch for my Husband’s Peanut Butter Pie, baking homemade chocolate cookies FOR the pie crust, individual meatloaves (also from the Pioneer Woman’s site), whipped garlic potatoes, asparagus w/ garlic butter and sweet tea punch!

SWEET TEA PUNCH RECIPE….

I tried to find a link to where I got the idea, but I couldn’t find it so I’ll tell you how I do it 🙂

Put 1 cup of water into a saucepan and add some water (it really doesn’t matter how much, just enough so you can put about 10 tea bags into it after it boils). Put over high heat and bring to a boil.

Hallelujah! I was going to have to load up 5 of my 6 kids and head to the grocery store, but my Mom is going to come over and watch them while I quickly run to pick up some things I don’t have on hand! Yay!!! My oldest son is gone to his father’s house this weekend, so I’m without his wonderful help! I realize just how much I depend on the boy when he’s not here!!

…. ok. So some time has passed and I now have the bread done, kids fed, pie filling done, pie crust baking and cookie dough made! Getting there! Now to get dressed so I won’t have to go to the store in my PJ’s! (yup…still in ’em and it’s going on 2PM!)

I’m really happy because every single thing I’ve had to bake today was at 350 degrees! Makes life SO much happier. So I’ve made sure to use good time management (don’t I sound professional??) and have just popped one thing in right after another!

… more time has passed and I lied. I had to bake the chocolate pie crusts at 375 degrees 😉

Well, I’ve been to the store to get all the things I didn’t have for dinner and the peanut butter pie 🙂

The End.  (sorry… didn’t get back to this and decided just to post what I DID write!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

