Posted by: purityseekers | June 10, 2009

Homemade Pizza Recipe (topping on this one is Grilled Chicken!)

I LOVE grilling.  And not only do I love to actually grill food, I love how food looks after it’s been grilled…

But I like the way it looks even better on homemade pizza dough…

Yes.  I know.  There is pepperoni on my "Grilled Chicken Pizza".  That is for my one "could be a pepperoni eating vegetarian" son.  He doesn’t like meats like baked chicken, cooked hamburger, etc.  BUT will eat gross McDonald’s nuggets and things like sausage and pepperoni.  I don’t get it, but I don’t mind either.  Even if he is one of those "kinda vegetarian" people who don’t eat beans, at least I know he LOVES peanut butter.  He’ll survive 😉

Anyway.  I used to make homemade pizza ALL the time but then at some point I got out of the groove.  Well, after our little bread making lesson here and seeing my Niece share her pizza recipe, I got encouraged again.   I had her run me through her recipe the other day and I’ve made it twice since! 

I used to make one 100% whole wheat, but I like this much better!  (and it’s very flexible so the amounts aren’t too specific~~ she does hers a little different.  I kinda took my old recipe and used some of hers)

Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

Dissolve honey or sugar in 3/4 c. water.  (I use a couple teaspoons of sweetness, but don’t measure, just blop it in!)

Add 1 packet yeast (2 and 1/4 teaspoons) and stir and let sit to get foamy.

Preheat oven a bit so it’s warm and then shut it off.  At this point you can also grease your pan.  I use a large cookie sheet and grease it with olive oil.

Once foamy, PREHEAT OVEN TO 425 DEGREES and then add up to 1/4 cup of olive oil to the yeast mixture.  (the more the better!!)  Now you can add some flax seed & spices.  A few T. of flax is good (or more if you want) and my Niece loves onion powder and adds a bit of that along with my favorite…garlic powder!  MMM  I just sprinkle some on… probably like 1/4 to 1/2 t. if you measured it) Mix 1 cup of whole wheat flour into dough.  Then add white flour until it forms a nice dough.  Just stir in as much as you can, put the dough on floured surface and knead in more flour until it’s nice and smooth.

Place in oiled bowl and roll around to get dough all coated.  Cover with damp cloth and place in warm oven for about 20 minutes.

Punch down and knead just a little then flatten out onto pan.  Add whatever you want for sauce, cheese and then the toppings. 

Bake for 10- 15 minutes or so.  I used some really fat mozarella my Husband bought (and loaded it!), so it took closer to the 15 minutes to cook.  Even after the crust was all done, the cheese wasn’t as browned as I like it, but it was still GOOOOOOD!

I served it up for lunch with some organic baby carrots… perfect.

 

Responses

  1. you and Haley are so inspiring. SUPERMOMS unite!
    And I'm with you, I think grilled food is a feast for the eyes too.

  2. We are so using that recipe!!!!

    THANKS

  3. That looks delicious!!

    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/linkmama

  4. That looks scrumptious!

    Kelley
    kelleysyarns.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

