Posted by: purityseekers | May 2, 2009

The Ruby Doll Pattern

I saw the Ruby Doll on a friend’s blog and wanted to try it.  Here’s the site:

RUBY DOLL PATTERN

First I’ll show you the little top I made for my 5 year old…

This is the cute shirt.  It would have been sew with the flowery fabric BUT smart me had all the lower pieces cut and then remembered I had to cut the bodice pieces.  I picked up some fabric, cut out the bodice and realized I had hacked up the lower pieces I had already cut!  ARGH.  So, I didn’t have enough fabric to cut another lower piece.  I found a matching solid in my stash and just made it random.  The front is the opposite of the back.

This was my 2nd zipper ever and it’s official… I despise sewing zippers.  BUT I like the end result.

I took some of the leftover fabric along with some other scraps and made her a little Ruby Doll…(and I added a tiny pocket from an old pair of shorts my older daughter used to wear)  She’s FAR from perfect… her arms look a bit like seal flappers…but my daughter likes her πŸ˜‰

Is it my imagination, or does it look kinda like that elf on Rudolph that says "when I grow up I want to be a dentist!!!" ??????

So, there ya have it.  My sewing for the day πŸ˜‰

Responses

  1. Adorable!

    Amy
    http://www.learningatourhouse.wordpress.com

  2. had to come back and comment. I saw this post awhile ago and never said anything at the time, but I think your Ruby doll is so stinkin' cute!!!!!! I adore her face, her round red cheeks make me smile.


Leave a Reply

Categories

