Posted by: purityseekers | April 26, 2009

Making Curtains From Flat Bed Sheets

*DIRECTIONS FOR HOW TO SEW CURTAINS FROM SHEETS AT BOTTOM OF POST!*

My children’s closets used to have the wooden accordian style doors on them, but we took them off quite a while ago because we really didn’t like them.  I’ve been wanting to make curtains for a long time, and a month or so ago I decided to buy some fabric.  Before I went to buy some, I headed to Goodwill to see if I could find nice quality flat bed sheets that would work.  Not only did I come home with 2 perfect "kids closet curtains" bedsheets, but I got a king size flat white sheet to make a closet curtain for our room and a bunch of nice fitted sheets for the kids beds!  We use loads of fitted sheets, so to have a lot on hand is nice, but we don’t need as many fitted because the kids only use them in the warm months.  I did manage to find 2 wonderful sets of flat/fitted twin Egyptian cotton sheets which are awesome!!

Anyway, back to the curtains.  I finally had a nice quiet afternoon today and decided to get the kids curtains made! 

Each sheet was $2.99 so grand total was $6 for both curtains!  They aren’t anything hugely fancy, but they do the trick and the kids LOVE them! 

Boys’ Closet… (the fabric is a light cream color with tan checkered lines)

Girls’ Closet… since my oldest likes purple and my youngest likes pink…this makes it fair! 😉

I also have a 14" strip that was cut from the bottom of each sheet.  My youngest daughter wanted a little piece of the pink so I asked her if she wanted me to make her a little blankie for her babies.  This is the finished product.  I added a little iron-on butterfly…

For those who may want to try this and don’t know how to do it…I’ll explain the steps.

BED SHEET CURTAINS

#1 Measure the width of your closet and purchase a sheet size that will be wide enough to allow for the curtain to gather on the rod.  (I used Double Size sheets for their closets)

#2 Measure the height of the closet to determine how much length to cut from your sheet.  The larger hem (top of sheet) will be where you end up making a casing for the rod and the bottom is what you will be cutting to fit your closet.   I folded the top over 2.5" (for casing) and folded the bottom up 1" and then up 1" again SO figure you’ll need to add a total of about 4.5" to your desired curtain length.

#3 Fold your sheet once the long way and then again to make for easier handling.  I laid mine out on my floor and measured & marked where I needed to cut the bottom.  To make my curtain sit above floor level, I had to cut 14" off the bottom.

#4 Turn the bottom of cut fabric in 1" and iron.  Fold again 1" and iron (measuring as you go to keep it even) and pin to prepare for sewing.  Sew close to the inner fold.

#5 Turn the wide top "already hemmed" section to the inside about 2.5" (make sure it fits the rod end you are using) and sew close to the inside fold to make casing.

#6 ALL DONE!!  Easy Peasy!  Now you can iron it if you wish and hang it and "oooh" and "aaaah" at how nice it looks!  (The smile on my face, when I was done, was mainly because it took me such little time and cost me only $3 a curtain!  Woo Hoo!  You can’t even buy enough fabric to MAKE a curtain for that amount!)

Responses

  1. Can you tell me where you found your sheets. I'm thinking of doing exactly the same!


Leave a Reply

Categories

