Posted by: purityseekers | October 16, 2008

A little goodbye post for my Father-in-law…

My husband’s Dad died yesterday after suffering a stroke the day before.  It’s been a busy couple of days, but today I was able to get caught up on some things and make a poster to display after his funeral on Saturday.

(last name hidden for privacy)

Whenever you’d ask my FIL how he was doing, he’d say "oh, not bad for an old fella", so after my husband got the idea, I added it to the heading…

Here he is the day Troy & I got married… and this is how I will always remember him…

And here’s the poster.  He will be sadly missed by many, and I am hoping this will give them something to gaze at and remember him by.

My 2 younger children were fighting this afternoon because my 3 year old said he was going to take an airplane to heaven.  My 4 year old kept saying "NO… you can’t take an airplane to heaven!!!" and then they would go back and forth… "YES I CAN!!!!"… "NO YOU CAN’T!!!!!!"  So, Grampy has been the topic of conversation around here and he will be missed. 

I just wanted to make sure to add a little post about Troy’s Dad.  I am thankful to have known him, since I never knew Troy’s Mom.  She died quite a few years back after a short battle with cancer.  My FIL will be buried by her after a graveside service with full military honors. 

Thank you for letting me share that!

🙂 Bridget

Responses

  1. Bridget, My prayers are with your family. I'm sorry to hear of your loss. I praise God for your FIL's service to our country.
    If I could fly to heaven, I'd fly there and bring back a few of my loved ones. That was a sweet story. Thank you for sharing it.

    Kim
    mommcgarry.blogspot.com

  2. What a wonderful token of remembrance! I love the poster… will be keeping all of you in our prayers.

    Love in Him,
    Laura

  3. My prayers are with you all today. I loved the story from my favorite 3 yo. I'll be thinking about you today and will call tonight.

  4. Oh I am so sorry for your lose. I can see the fight going on with the little ones. I hope that there is some comfort in all of this. We will be praying for your family. Love Laura

  5. Sorry for you loss. He sounds like he was a wonderful man. You all are in our thoughts and prayers.

  6. I just wanted to say I am sorry for your loss. You are in my prayers.

  7. The poster idea is a lovely tribute to him. I'm sorry for your family's loss.


Leave a Reply

Categories

