Posted by: purityseekers | October 7, 2008

Spelling fun & a little designer's work…

My niece’s husband was here a few weeks back and impressed my children by saying a few REALLY long words!  Well, that got my oldest son interested in researching some of the longest words in the dictionary and learning the ones that Nate said to him!  He has been successful (and so have I) at learning how to SAY these 3 fun words…

* humuhumunukunukuapuaa

* floccinaucinihilipilification

* pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis

If you click on each word it will take you to the online dictionary where you can click the little speaker icon and hear how the word is spoken πŸ™‚ 

We have learned the meanings of the words (the 1st being a Hawaiin word for a triggerfish) and we have learned how to say them properly by just learning them syllable by syllable and saying them over and over again.  Even my 6 & 7 year olds can say the "flocci" word perfectly and my 4 year old is getting there!!  It is WAY too cute!!  And my 3 year old says something like "eye-a-pif-cation"!!!  haha

NOW we are onto the tricky part… learning how to SPELL each word!  I have put them on the chalkboard and divided them up in syllables (probably not perfectly phonetically correct, but in an easy way to remember each) so we can go section by section.  It’s a really fun way to teach some different sounds and parts of words that can be applied to other more simpler words.  Parts like "micro", "silico", "volcano" and the "tion" and "osis" endings will help too! 

Here are the words on the chalkboard (along with a few other random things like one of my friends kids names for my youngest daughter since she is addicted to them and always has to write their names on paper!!! haha) AND a new thing we learned… the correct way to spell "Vittles".  You know… a food like "eat your vittles" or "tender vittles" cat food.  The ACTUAL way to spell the word that rhymes with "Skittles" is…. VICTUALS.  I love learning right along with my kids!

And this should wait for Sew Crafty Friday, but I am going to post it now since I just downloaded the pix. 

I got an idea the other day.  I know… that is scary!!!  But I saw this little doll someone had sewn and I thought how cute it would be if I had my oldest daughter (age:7) create a little doll pattern for me to make.  The 1st attempt was a bit of a flop on my part because I should have just embroidered the face instead of putting each little part on like an applique.  AND I didn’t sew the neck right, decided to zig zag it…then realized I forgot to stuff the body!! BUT…she likes it and is proud that she is the designer! 

Here’s the drawing…

And here is the funky little doll…

She went back to the drawing board and I’m going to have fun with my next attempts to make a doll that actually works well so that maybe I can sell them πŸ™‚  I told her that if I do, she will get a percentage of the money!!  She can’t wait!!!!!

OK… it’s off to bed I go!!!  πŸ™‚ Bridget

Responses

  1. the doll is ADORABLE! You're so cool. It's gotten me inspired.

  2. I was thinking of this today-

    http://heartstringtyingchallenge.blogspot.com/

    And was praying about doing some sort of "30 day parenting challenge" or something -the basics of FTO and where a mom would begin. I would love it if we could somehow do this together. I am just rambling. I don't even know if this is something people would enjoy/need/read?


Leave a Reply

Categories

