Posted by: purityseekers | August 22, 2008

Sew Crafty Friday

*** I am typing this up on Thursday because we are leaving in the morning to visit my brother and his family for a week!!  I am SOOO excited to see them!  They flew in from Costa Rica for a visit a few days ago and we’ll be staying at a cottage beside theirs! *** 

My niece and I put in a big order at Peace Fleece and it came the other day!  We were so happy!!!  To see the UPS guy pull up next to my house knowing what was inside that box just made me all goofy inside! haha

Beautiful… just beautiful…

Little ol’ me happy as a… sheared sheep!!!

I am dying wool today for my friend Tammie’s daughter’s custom shorties:)  If anyone wants to see a good little tutorial on how to do it with food coloring, this is a good place to start… 

HOW TO DYE WOOL WITH FOOD COLORING

BEFORE…

SOAKING IN VINEGAR & WATER…

All dyed and ready to go in the microwave…

All rinsed and hanging on the line to dry!  I think it’s really pretty!!!  Can’t wait to see it balled up… and then I can’t wait to see the shorties all knit!!!!!!

And before I show you what I’ve made this week… I’ll finish with today’s stuff.  This isn’t really a "craft" but I’ve seen others post things they’ve baked so I’m going with it! I made an apple-rhubarb crisp to take with us on our trip to my brother’s cottage tomorrow… (got some free rhubarb from my niece’s FIL’s house!)

MMM… rhubarb!!  We always had some growing in our yard as kids and had "rhubarb eating contests" to see who could eat a whole piece without making a face!!

 

 All mixed with apples and dotted with butter…YUM YUM YUMOOOOO

 Ready for the oven…

And I made my first pickles ever!  I didn’t use a certain recipe… I just kinda read a few online and took a bit from each πŸ™‚  How I did mine was to cut up big cucumbers into spears (that we also got free from my son’s Grandparents garden!!), sprinkled sea salt all over them, covered them in water, covered the pot and put them in the fridge for about 2 hours.  I boiled water in my big canning pot and put a few jars in to sterilize.  I put the lids into hot water to sit while I got ready to can.  Then I put equal amounts of vinegar and water ( 3 cups of each) and some sugar into a pot and brought it to a boil.  In the jar I put a halved clove of garlic and some fresh dill, then I crammed the spears in nice and tight, added another sprig of dill and another split clove of garlic, poured the vinegar water in to the very top, wiped the rim and then put the lid on and put them in the boiling water for about 15 minutes. 

They look SOOOO yummy!! (and so does the finished dessert!!!!  Wish I could eat it now, but we are taking it with us tomorrow!!!)

And my oldest daughter was in need of some shorts for our week away so I bought some fabric to match a couple of her dresses. 

Here is a blue pair…

and a pink pair πŸ™‚ (I haven’t put the elastic in!  I had run out after I sewed them and just bought more elastic yesterday!)

and a matching headband…

And my friend, Tammie, also wanted a pair of natural colored longies for her daughter, so here they are started…

And one more thing.  I made my youngest son’s first mitten of a pair!  I love the color πŸ™‚  So now I have my youngest daughter’s pair made and this little one!  3 down…  only 11 to go!! haha (since I’ll be knitting myself and my husband a pair hopefully!!!)

What have you been up to for craftiness????  Go over and visit Shereen and see what other’s have done and post a link to what you’ve done!!

 

Responses

  1. HAVE FUN!!!!!
    I went to your Etsy store the other day and bought from Haley πŸ™‚ She is such a sweetheart!!!! I feel like I "know" her already from reading your blog πŸ™‚
    TTYL

    Jennifer
    http://www.pjacademy.blogspot.com

  2. Do you make your own laundry detergent?
    I vaguely remember you (or am confusing you with someone else) talking about it once but trying to save myself looking through all the archives πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

