Posted by: purityseekers | August 12, 2008

My Grandmother's Mitten Pattern :)

"Dorothy" Mittens

This is my Grandmother’s famous mitten pattern that she knit every Christmas for her 5 Grandkids (me being the next to the youngest!)  I know if she were alive today she would be very happy to know that others were sharing her pattern!

(mittens below were knit using Malabrigo Kettle Dyed Merino 100% wool)

*knit with 4 ply yarn (this would be a fingering weight, but I use worsted), 4 double pointed needles, stitch holder & stitch marker

(my Grandmother always knit with acrylic (which ended up sopping wet when used in the snow and our hands were freezing!!!), but I use wool to make them extra warm and water repellent since my kids use them while playing in the snow!  When using wool, just make sure to knit a size or 2 larger to accomodate any shrinking that will occur when it felts!  The mittens in the above picture were my first wool mittens and they ended up much smaller after my children had used them in the snow!  They still fit, but were pretty tight and stubby!  So make the cuffs plenty long!  That’s always nice anyway to tuck up nice and high inside jackets!!!)

sizes: 2 (4- 6 – 8 – 10)

needles size: 3 (3- 3 – 4 – 4)

cast on: 28 (30- 32 – 34 – 36)

Divide stitches onto 3 needles and K1, P1 ribbing to desired length.

Knit 3 rounds even.

**Start thumb gusset**

Inc. 1 stitch in 1st stitch and 2nd stitch.  (Increase by knitting in the front and back of stitch before taking it off the needle) , place marker, and complete this round.

Knit 2 rounds even.

Continue by increasing 1 stitch in the first stitch on the “marker needle” and the last stitch before the

marker.  Complete increase round and K 2 rounds even between each increase round until you have, up to the marker:

10 ( 10 – 10 – 12 – 12) stitches.

Finish the last increase round and K one round even.

Place on the holder:

10 ( 10 – 10 – 12 – 12) stitches.

Remove marker.

Cast on for back of thumb:

2 ( 2 – 2 – 2 – 2) stitches.

My Nana’s Pattern says to knit even rounds for:

1 ½ ( 1 ½ – 2 – 3 – 3 ½ ) inches

BUT I always measure the child’s hand from the inside of the thumb base up to a bit past the pinky to

make sure the tip of the mitten will be a little roomy! (For instance, my 3.5 year old wears a size 4

mitten but instead of the 1.5 inches I knit hers 2 ¼ inches! And my 10 year old son wears a size 10

mitten but instead of the 3.5 inches, I knit his 4 inches!)

Tip Decrease:

K together every 3rd and 4th stitch.  Knit 3 rounds even.

K tog. every 2nd and 3rd stitch.  Knit 3 rounds even.

K 2 tog. all around.

Cut yarn, leaving several inches. Draw yarn through remaining stitches, pull together and fasten

firmly.

Knitting the thumb:

Pick up stitches on holder and 2 cast on stitches for back of thumb.

Divide stitches onto 3 needles and “knit even rounds for”:

1 ¼ ( 1 ½ – 1 ½ – 2 – 2)

(I make sure to try the mittens on before doing the thumb decrease to make sure its long enough!)

Thumb decrease:

Simply K2 together all around, cut yarn (leaving several inches), pull snugly and weave in some yarn

to secure it.

ALL DONE!!! ENJOY YOUR BEAUTIFUL MITTENS!!!

Responses

  1. What beautiful mittens!

    How are you doing? I miss visiting with you. I have found a few things that have helped with the chore thing. I have the chores (water, electrical, and such color coded) so I can turn them over and let the children take turns selecting one each as we go around from youngest to oldest (the youngest choose from a smaller pile just for them) once a week (removing the M, W, and inserting a new one each day). They love the surprise of it. They are starting to get more routine about morning, lunch, and dinner time for their chores. They still get surprised with a "day off" for the hardest worker once in a while. I know this might not be a chore organizer for everyone, but it seems to make it more fun for mine. Did you find that it worked for you?

    You would be so impressed with us. We are crocheting a big blanket (the four oldest children and myself). We have been having so much fun doing it. I think we might combine them all so we can sit under the blanket together in the winter time.

    I hope to hear from you.Edited by momofsix on Aug. 12, 2008 at 9:54 AM

  2. I showed your post/pattern to my daughter who is an avid crocheter/knitter. She immediately said, what size needle is that? She is already thinking of working on mittens now!

  3. Wow. If I only knew what all that means I could make great use of it. LOL.

    Emily
    http://emilyswhatsoeverthings.blogspot.com

  4. Wow! Now I just need to really learn to start knitting. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Wow! Now I just need to really learn to start knitting. ๐Ÿ˜€

    LadySnow
    candle-by-night.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

