Posted by: purityseekers | August 8, 2008

Sew Crafty Friday

I only did knitting this week (but plan on hopefully sewing some training pants today!)

I have almost finished a pair of what I call "Stash Scrap" longies, but my niece informed me that knitting in stripes is called "hudson".  I looked around and found lots of things online like couches that are striped called hudson and curtains, etc.  Not sure why they call it that, but I love the look of stripes!!!

I still have the gusset to graft and I started the striped i-cord today!  I am in LOVE with these pants and since I knit them on smaller needles and have a TON of yarn ends to weave in so I am tempted to keep them for "hope" of maybe having another baby someday to wear them ğŸ˜‰ If not, I might try to convince my friend, Katherine, to buy them haha

And this is just a little toy "baby pod" I am making as a tester to give my daughter since it is coming out kinda tight and too small for a Build A Bear.  (a little girl, that saw my blog post with the Bean Pod I made and had my daughters BAB model it, said she’s love something like that for HER stuffed animal!) So… next time I think I’ll have to use larger needles because this was super chunky yarn!!!  I ran out, so I need to buy another skein to do the hood! 

Make sure to go over to Shereen’s blog and see what others have been up to!!!

Responses

  1. Hi, mom2fur here. The longies are a riot–what a great way to use little pieces of yarn!

  2. Hey Bridget, The longies look wonderful. I need to try those some day. I love the gusset. My first pair I made last year I am not impressed with how I put together the croch part. Like coffee? I will put on a pot if you want to come over lol. DD3 Birthday today so I am not posting. I will have to post her cake though later this weekend maybe. DD1 and DD2 went to a neighbors this afternoon and put Wool of the Andes but not for longies, sisters hubby wants a sweater/jacket. We will see how it turns out. Have a wonderful weekend my friend.

  3. I love those longies. There may be a ton of ends to weave in, but I think it was worth it. They look really nice. 😀

    candle-by-night.blogspot.com

  4. You know I WILL want to buy them………. They are AWESOME…

  5. Hudson does sound classier. lol What they are called, I think they look cool. The cord on it is even cooler. lol ;0) I can't believe how fast you do the longies. Thanks for sharing.
    Shereen
    w8ng4him.blogspot.com

  6. I love those stripes! They are beautiful. If I get a chance to post to sew crafty this week you'll see that you inspired me to start my current project. It's the cargo pants from knitty.com. I didn't want to buy circular needles and dpns so I learned the magic loop method. I have one leg done and the second started. In some spots the knitting is a little wonky but I was planning on giving them to charity anyway so it should be okay. I also finished my socks. There is a pic of them up already. Thanks for sharing your projects!

    PS I added you as a friend on Ravelry. Hope you don't mind 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

