Posted by: purityseekers | August 1, 2008

Sew Crafty Friday…

This week I decided to create a pattern for a knit swaddle cozy thinga-majigy that I saw online 🙂  I loved the whole concept of it and knew I’d have fun coming up with a pattern and making it my own!!  I am calling my cozy a "BEAN POD" to go along with our store name, "Homegrown Beans" 🙂  It is great for swaddling a newborn, using along with a sling for added warmth on chilly days, or just for cuddling even with hood off and arms pulled out!

Here are a couple pix (I had posted them a few days ago too, but will re-post them so I don’t have to send you off to a different link!)… P.S. (I had my daughter’s Build-A-Bear Frog as a model… sorry it’s not exactly true to life! haha)

And since a REAL baby’s eyes aren’t on the top of their head… they’ll actually be able to see out the opening! haha

With hood off, but still swaddled…

And I ended up adding and i-cord to the bottom so it could be cynched up!

I sold it as a "tester" on my Etsy shop to my friend, Tammie in Alaska, and I can’t wait to get pictures of her daughter in it so I can post them!!!  I’ll be selling more of them eventually!  I think they’ll be the perfect thing to stock for the upcoming Fall & Winter!

The other day my son had his King’s Birthday Breakfast and I made him an orange cloth napkin…

And here’s the crown my oldest son helped me decorate.  I made it with yellow cardstock and added velcro 😉

I will be trying to finish these today to sell on my shop.  They are a newborn pair of longies…(using the leftover yarn from the set I made from friend, Katherine, for her son Luka)

Go over to Shereen’s Blog and see what others have been up to!

🙂 Bridget 

Responses

  1. Hi, mom2fur of sortafrugal.blogspot.com here. Happy Birthday to your son! And that frog looks very comfy. What a clever idea!

  2. You have been busy. I love seeing the special birthday breakfasts that you do for your children. I am think of doing something like that for my children as well. I love your shop. I wish I had the money to buy a couple of pair of longies for my youngest son for fall. What type of yarn do you use? I am think of having a friend knit them up for me….I want to learn, but haven't taken the time yet. 😀

    PS…once the longies are knitted…what do you have to do to them…if anything…before using them with cloth diapers?

    Thanks.

    Melanie
    candle-by-night.blogspot.com

  3. my daughter saw the BAB Frog in it and wants one for hers. So funny. Beautiful job.

  4. Once again you are impressive! I love the Bean Pod! I hope you sell a TON of them. I'm also in love with your longies. That's great that they are your original pattern. You are inspiring me to try hand knitting again so I think I'm going out to buy a set of needles with my birthday money. I have all this sock yarn, a book on how to knit socks, and lots of ambition. LOL. And if doesn't work out for me I can always make them up on my sock loom. I have my stuff for sew crafty friday up at http://www.aleryan.com if you want to see. I'm especially proud of the socks!

  5. Oh I love seeing the special birthday celebrations you have for your children! What precious memories you are creating in their hearts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

