Posted by: purityseekers | July 4, 2008

Sew Crafty Friday

Make sure to go over to Shereen’s blog and check out other’s SEW CRAFTY FRIDAY posts!!

I saw the idea for "sheet skirts" (my friend, Jess, had sent me a link) and I decided I had to try it!

I went to "Goodwill" and got a few different sheets, but chose this flowered print for my first skirt.  (the sheet cost me $3) These are the 2 pieces together that I cut out for the skirt…

And this is the finished product!  It was SO easy!  I am going to shorten it just a bit because it will give me more leg room!

And I saw on another site how you can make "lounge pants" by tracing around a pair of pants you already have.  SO… I decided to try that too, to use up more of the sheet…

Here they are all sewn (inside out).  I had my husband take a picture of me in them, but since they were too tight I decided not to post it! LOL I forgot the other pants of mine are a knit fabric and this fabric has zero stretch…

I couldn’t waste them, so I sized them up to my daughter and took in the sides and legs and I think they make cute & modest capris!

And the other day my oldest son had asked if I could make him a bag to hold his walking stick and he wanted a pocket on it to hold his jacknife.  While he was visiting with my parents yesterday, I took what I’ve learned from making tote bags and just made up a different pattern for a LOOOOONG bag with straps like a backpack.  I used some leftover canvas fabric I had.

It was NOT easy to get all pinned with the straps inside… and I forgot and sewed over the top edge where he was supposed to put his walking stick, but it worked in the end.  I had to cut the top with my seam ripper and hem the opening.

Then I topstitched around the 3 other sides…

 and he LOVES it!!  It’s not perfect, but he doesn’t care!  It serves the purpose!

 

My oldest daughters knit shorts are almost done!  She decided on a ruffled cuff and I think that makes them looks extra cute!  I can’t wait to see them after I make the drawstring!! 

I noticed the other day that my husband had gone through his clothes and had a big bag on the porch to donate.  I told him I wanted to go through it first to see if I could use any of the fabric.  Today I chose a red polo shirt (that was one of his old workshirts) to make a pair of shorts for my youngest daughter… 

 And I used the tag to show where the back is!!!  As you can see, I am getting addicted to making shorts!!!

 Here she is modeling them in her 4th of July dress (lifted up a bit so you can see the shorts— which are more like skorts, which I like)

 And this shows how they peek out just a bit at the bottom, but they’ll keep her modest if she’s running and playing!

 I also used the leftover fabric from the shirt to make a little candy bag for my oldest daughter for when we go to the parade tomorrow…

 And later on I have to make my oldest daughter some shorts for the 4th and I bought this blue fabric last night… (I just washed it and dried it on the line)

 This is the print up close!  You’ll see the shorts after I make them and take pix of the kids tomorrow!

Phew…it’s been a busy week!!!  But I’m not done yet… gotta get sewing!!  Have a great 4th and an awesome weekend!!!

** I ended up making the shorts and I also made some candy bags for the kids… and I took pictures BUT I don’t have time to resize them, so I’ll post them later!  They came out cute!

🙂 Bridget

 

Responses

  1. I love the idea of using sheets to make the lounge pants. And the 'polo' shorts, to cute for words. You are so clever. I'm looking forward to seeing the things you made from the starred fabric. You did and excellent job on the case for your son. Like I said before, so clever.

  2. Looks like you've been busy. I like the skirt. You could put slits in the sides to make it easier to walk in.

  3. Mom2fur here–Happy Fourth of July! Wow, it's great the way you repurpose clothes into new things! I've heard of skirts made from sheets. What a great idea! Now I'm going to be looking for pretty, thrifty sheets to play with! It's got to be a lot cheaper than having to buy 3 yards of fabric, LOL!

  4. Great ideas! I'm always on the lookout for bedlinen and curtains in charity shops so that I can use the material. So far I've only made bags but I'm going to try a skirt like yours!
    You are very talented!

    Phoebe
    http://perfectretreat.blogspot.com

  5. I'm impressed with all the sewing you are accomplishing. Bags are good projects to teach your children how to use the sewing machine. I started my daughters and sons on the sewing machine when they were about 6 or 7. Now my daughters (ages 18 and 23) make their own patterns using favorite garments the way you did the lounge pants. They started by making gift bags and pillows using old linens and clothes for the fabric. btw Thanks for adding me to your friends list. I enjoyed your post about toys. I read it aloud to my husband and children and had a very positive response. grace and peace, Kathy aka queen mother of 8

  6. Great job on everything! Especially the "oops"- very creative fix! =D

  7. I love the skirts, and I love your concern with the modesty of your children. That is wonderful!

  8. Wow, I love all the sewing you have been doing. It all looks wonderful. Oh and I could use the folder machine too. lol Oh well I guess God already gave me one(two of those) I came equipted with them from the day He formed me.

  9. Love the skirt!! I just made a skirt for my daughter last week and it came out really nice. I was a bit nervous because it's the first time I've attempted anything beyond turning pants into shorts since taking Home Ec. in Jr. High, lol! You may have inspired me to actually try one for myself – curious – did you do elastic waist? It seemed to lay so nice under your shirt.

  10. Oh I love the skirt and skort. I am so "dying" to make myself a new skirt. The stick bag for your son is awesome. You are so creative. Love ya,
    Emily

    http://emilyswhatsoeverthings.blogspot.com

  11. I've been watching your blog for quite a while & thought of you for an award. Come visit my site!
    Have a blessing of a day!
    Mrs.C. (BellaMama)
    bellamamasprairielife (dot) blogspot (dot) com

  12. I think you should advertise your awesome homemade sewing in the mothering magazine. You are sooo gifted!


Leave a Reply

Categories

