Posted by: purityseekers | June 6, 2008

Sew Crafty Friday…

Make sure to head on over to Shereen’s blog to see what others have been up to for craftiness…

WAITING FOR HIM

It’s been a busy week!  Aside from doing the typical SAHMama stuff, I’ve been in Hyena Cart mode trying to get my store up and hoppin’.

I forgot to post this last week.  I finally made my oldest son’s pillow and case that I promised him since his birthday back in May!!! UGH.  He is a major lover of blankets and pillows so one of his gifts was the fabric and stuffing to make a pillow and case!  Here is the pillow (that I stuffed with awesome "cluster" fill that feels like down!)

 And here’s the pillow in the case I made…(I always choose reds and blues for things I make him for his bed because his bed is red and the walls are blue!)

I wasn’t blogging much back in May, so I just had my son go up and grab his quilt so I could get a picture of it.  I started this quilt approx. FIVE YEARS AGO!!! haha It was a Mystery Quilt pattern and if you look closely, I messed up a bit on the actual pattern, but I think it came out pretty good.  My poor son has been asking me to YEARS when I was EVER going to finish it!! All I had left to do was to back it, so I did it right before his party!  When he opened it on his birthday he was SO excited!!

SO… this week I decided to take some Guatemalan fabric my SIL had gotten me when they first visited their missionary friends (I still can’t believe THEY will be there next year themselves!!!) and I made it into a tote bag πŸ™‚

BTW…if you want to check out there blog… go to The Dennett’s Guatemala

And, believe it or not, this is a quilting strip I sewed that measured 69 feet long when I was done!!!

and here is a pillow cover I made with some of it…

I made the pillow insert and this is what the back looks like…(before I ironed it!)

And I’m still in the process of creating "fake food" fabric patterns and have made a bit more lettuce…(the last few do not have their "veins" sewn yet)

My first "whole wheat bulky roll" attempt…

and a whole wheat pita pocket…

And here’s a headwrap I made my oldest daughter to match her apron…

And last but not least… 2 Malabrigo Ruffled wool shorties.  I finished the first pair and already put it on my Hyena Cart…

But I still have a bit to go on this one…

What have you been up to in the "Crafty" area???  Go to Shereen’s blog and add a link to your post!

πŸ™‚ Bridget

Responses

  1. wow, you are busy. I wish I could get that motivated!

  2. Wow you have been busy. I love it. Great job. The quilt look wondrful. Making your own pillows now that sounds wonderful. I was just thinking I need to go buy more pillows because all of ours our flat, but alas the cost of pillows for all of us is quite a bit. You wouldn't be post a how to on your blog now would you. lol.

  3. I really like the pillow cover made from the strip. The colors are great together.

  4. Hi, Mom2fur here. (I finally put my link at Shereen's blog today–totally forgot!). I love everything you made. I need to try to make some pillowcases. They look so cool when you choose your own fabric. I bet your son's room is awesome!

  5. You've given me some great ideas! I love the headwrap to match an apron idea, for one thing. Your sewn food looks so realistic. What fun that must be for your children. Do you have a link or more information about the pillow fill. I have been searching for foam chips but cannot seem to find any in Canada. That might be a good alternative for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

