Posted by: purityseekers | May 30, 2008

Sew Crafty Friday

Wow…I beat Shereen at posting the SCF today!  That’s because I got up REALLY early and figure I might as well get it done before all the kids are awake! 

Here’s the link to Shereen’s Blog

I have been busy this week sewing!!!  I go through phases where I like to sew but LOVE to knit… but now I am in the reverse!

Instead of knitting the kids toy food, which has been a plan of mine for a while, I decided to try to make patterns for some food so that I can also sell some of it after I make my kids a bunch!

Here is my first attempt at salad greens…I am really happy with how they turned out!  I made baby spinach (organic, of course hehe) and romaine!

Then I decided to try making some whole wheat bread… I haven’t perfected it yet, but here’s a look at my first slices…

Alright…you can’t laugh at these! haha I DID decide to knit a few little foods when I was sitting outside while the kids played. 

I decided to make some fiddleheads (a favorite of mine when they are in season– which happens to be right now! MMMM) and then I went a little crazy and made a very soggy piece of asparagus, a green bean, and a piece of weird lookin’ lettuce.  My kids will love playing with them!  Heck… they look more real than most things you buy in the stores these days!

And I am also working on some aprons patterns.  Of course I have to make some for my kids first, as testers, so I can get a really good pattern figured out!

This is my first that I made for my youngest daughter.  It has a double pocket in the front and velcro on the straps…

And yesterday I made my oldest daughter hers.  I decided to change the pattern a bit and added some extra pockets and a loop to hold a wooden spoon or whatever she chooses to hang there.  I made it with a single large pocket in front that I made like quilting squares and backed the pocket with the fabric from the back.  I also added the pocket on the top of the apron and the loop (which in the picture is the blue line to the right of the large pocket)

 And on the inside I put a little hidden pocket just because you can’t have enough pockets when you are a kid!

I managed to also knit 2 more dishcloths to add to my stack for a future "Dishcloth Blanket"…

And while my niece was here she started a dishcloth to add to my pile and finished it while she and her husband were out for the day.  She left it hanging on my doorknob!  She’s so cute! (Thanks Haley!!!)

Here’s the stack so far!  Only 4 BILLION more to go!! haha

And before I end I’ll add a picture of a reusable grocery bag my niece made on Saturday.  She came over (like I said earlier) and we sewed together and it was SO fun!  I made the first apron that day!

Isn’t this cute???  I’ll be putting it on my Hyena Cart…

So… have you been crafty this week?  Make sure to pop on over to Shereen’s blog and see what others have done and post a link of your own if you have something to share!!!

๐Ÿ™‚ Bridget

Responses

  1. Great Job! I love the food. what are fiddleheads? is this an east coast thing? I have been knitting and sewing this week too, but haven't had a chance to take pictures. Maybe later, maybe next week. Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. Love the leaves and bread. Now all you'll need is some bacon and tomatoes for a BLT. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cute aprons. Very fun fabrics. You did a wonderful job on all your projects.

  3. Your crafts are amazingly cute. I love your shopping bags! And the fruit is too fun! Thanks for sharing!

    wilsonclan.wordpress.com

  4. thanks for the update on the fiddleheads. I thought it was something like..when I was stationed in Virginia I was floored when I was told people where going out to pick dandelions to eat. I couldn't figure people eating weeds. As kids it was fun to blow the white head all over the place not realizing we were spreading the weeds everywhere lol. Hey were the wash clothes here this morning? If they were I missed them…must be selective seeing ha ha. they are wonderful, great job.

  5. Love the crafts. The food is simply amazing! Did you just make all that up out of your head? The aprons are great too. Thanks for sharing!

  6. You have been really busy. I love all of your stuff. The food is so cute! I might have to try it sometime, do you use a pattern or do you come up with them on your own?
    Toni
    http://thehappyhousewife.com

  7. I'd like to have the pattern for the dishcloths. You did a great job.

  8. Hi, Mom2fur here–who loves everything you made! I love to crochet dishcloths. Yours are really pretty! And the aprons…too cute.
    Thanks for visiting my blog and the nice comment on the little romper I made!

  9. BTW, if the fake food is made from cotton fabric, I guess it IS organic, LOL!

  10. My but you've been busy this week! You put me to shame. ~smile~ I've just joined the Sew Crafty fun. I hope that it will inspire me to get things done!

    Have a great week!
    Laura of Harvest Lane Cottage
    http://harvestlanecottage.blogspot.com

  11. You are too funny my friend:) You could have very easily messes with my brain this weekend. I got one of my migrains and have been out of commission to say the least. I love the chubby body parts of my kids. they are so fun. My 15 month old even knows when the play room door is open and makes a beline for it or out the back door. They must have radar ha ha.


Leave a Reply

Categories

