Posted by: purityseekers | December 13, 2007

"Here we only got one rule"….(hot chocolate!)

"NEVER EVER LET IT COOL!!!!"

It’s that time of the year again… HOT CHOCOLATE TIME!!!  I have to admit that in the past years I always opened up a box of those packets that you add hot water too, but not this year!  I decided to make it from scratch!

I found an awesome recipe online that is SOOOOO good!!!  And instead of using "half and half", I’ve just been using our raw milk UNSHAKEN and then I shake it when it calls for the "whole milk".  But no matter what you use… you’ll LOVE it!!

HOT CHOCOLATE

3 cups whole milk

1 c. half and half

1/4 c. cocoa powder

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 t. cinnamon

1/4 t. vanilla

Simmer the half and half over medium heat.  Stir together the cocoa, sugar and cinnamon.  Add to the half and half and stir well then stir in the whole milk and simmer for 2 minutes.  Add vanilla and you’re done!!

I put some little marshmallows into the kids cups (I collect the "Campbells Soup" cups and buy them whenever I see them at "Goodwill"!!) before adding the hot chocolate…

and I gave them one little mint to either eat, or put into their cocoa AND I gave them each a big, fat marshmallow!  So, this definitely was a TREAT that they can’t have TOO often!

The candy striped mints are "Bob’s Sweet Stripes" and if your Walmart or other store carries them… BUY THEM!! haha They are SOOO good and taste like old fashioned candy!  They aren’t crunchy, but melt in your mouth!!  Last year they sold the candy sticks, but this year they have the little pieces.  I like the little ones so you can drop them into your cocoa or have a quick little treat!  And they are individually wrapped so you could drop some in with a gift!  They sell a big 2 lb. bucket of them at our Walmart for a little over $5!  I got the little bag of them so we wouldn’t be tempted to eat so many!!

Responses

  1. I was just looking for a hot coco receipt yesterday. I will have to give this one a try.

  2. I must write that recipe down before I leave your website. I really enjoy reading what you write, btw.

    And in the spirit of the holidays, I have been doing some cyber-caroling, so knock-knock:

    "We wish you a Merry Christmas, we wish you a Merry Christmas, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year!"

    MERRY CHRISTMAS!


Leave a Reply

Categories

