Posted by: purityseekers | December 11, 2007

My kids need to be a little more FRUITY…

I’ve been trying hard to start my day by reading God’s word.  Lately I haven’t been in His Word much because I have just let life get in the way.  SO, I have started making sure that once the kids are ready for the day, that I sit and read, at least for a few minutes before breakfast.

I am starting with a Proverb a day.  I don’t know if you are like me, but I could read a whole Proverb and then one little verse will pop out at me that I can meditate on through my day.

Since there are enough Proverbs for each day of the month, I read Proverbs 11 today.  Verse 30 says "the fruit of the righteous is a tree of life, and he that winneth souls is wise."

I’ve always loved doing the "fruit of the Spirit" study with my kids.  Not only is it fun, but they "get it" because of the analogy of the tree bearing fruit.  If a tree has bad roots, it won’t grow to bear good fruit.  It’s a very easy way to teach kids about having "good roots" and bearing "good fruits".  Are there any of these fruits that you as a parent struggle with?  Proverbs says that we are like a "tree of life" if we have righteous fruits and that we will "win souls".  But how can we win souls if we are impatient, unhappy, without self control, etc. 

As a SAHM I have struggled with the fruit of "PATIENCE".  When you have kids at you all day, it is easy to have a big ol’ nutty right there in front of them.  NOT GOOD!!!  I have always felt horrible when I’ve lost my temper and let a bunch of little souls drive me absolutely batty!!!  What I SHOULD have been doing was training their hearts, not yelling and acting like a fool!!!

So… lately I have had BOOTCAMP on my brain again. 

I’ve noticed a few things about their behavior that I DON’T like.  They aren’t "immediately" obeying me.  They are arguing together a lot.  When I ask them to do a chore they often say "ok, Mom" with a VERY unpleasant attitude, then they tend to do the chore with obvious distaste for it. 

SO… I sat down with them at breakfast and we went over the section in Galatians 5 about the "deeds of the flesh" and the "fruits of the Spirit".  I love the part that says how there is no law agains the good stuff.  I said "so, if I went over to the neighbors and was mad and decided to break all their windows with a baseball bat, would that be against the law?" and of course they all said "YES!".  Then I said, "if I went over to the neighbors and was upset at them and gave them bread, would THAT be against the law?"  And of course they know that is GOOD.  So we just kept talking about the deeds of the flesh and the fruits of the Spirit and then I got out my list of "Bootcamp Rules".  I went down the list one by one and was amazed at how many of the rules they have been breaking lately!!

Of all the rules it was the "immediate obedience" that we talked about the most.  And then we had to really talk about all of them including "no name calling", "good manners at the table"…

and "don’t be lazy", 

Instead of going nuts trying to do a whole scheduled BOOTCAMP (which I should be doing, but need to pace myself these days!!!), I am just going to start our day reading a Proverb and talking about what ever God places on my heart and going over the "rules" and talking to them about what they need to work on.

I have also been doing a lot with the Flylady again and will be posting about that a little later! 

Hope you are all having a great week!

🙂 Bridget

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

