Posted by: purityseekers | October 12, 2007

Sew Crafty Friday (knit mittens)

It’s that time again!  "Sew Crafty Friday"!  Click the link below (to Shereen’s blog) and you can check out what others have done and add a link to your crafts!

At the beginning of the week I knit more of Little Guy "E"s Christmas longies… but then, as I did before, I ran out of yarn!!!!!  haha Now I REALLY need to order more or he is never going to have any pants for winter!!!

The rest of this week I was in MITTEN MODE!!!  I have 5 children… that’s 10 little hands to make mittens for!! (and then I need to make myself and Dh some!)  I figured that I better get started because the weather has already started to get pretty darn cold!!

I have finished 2 mittens!  This one is for Big "C"… (I figured I’d start out with the largest so that the smaller ones would seem to go faster!  Just the little mind game I play with myself so that I don’t go crazy!  LOL)

and I’ve gotten this far on his 2nd one…

And in order to not get too bored (since black is just WAY too boring for me! LOL) I decided that since I use smaller needles for the little kids, I’d start a pretty one too!  So… I went nuts and actually finished one for my Sweet "L" before finishing the one above…

Last year I used wool to knit the kids mittens… here is a pic of them from before Christmas….

I LOVE working with wool, and I know many people swear by wool mittens for warmth and all, but I really was not happy with them in the end.  I decided to take a NEW pic of them today to show what they look like now.

They look pretty good BUT they did NOT hold their shape and felted a bit so they shrunk and don’t fit very good this year.  You can see that the blue and purple ones are different sizes…UGH.  It might be that they were made with Malabrigo wool and that doesn’t hold up very good because it felts and pills and stuff.  I think I will try the wool I’ve been using for longies next time to see if that works better!  Wool IS warmer than acrylic… but I was always used to acrylic mittens because that is what my Nana used to use for ours… and they lasted for years!  Here are the mittens today…

So… that’s my craftiness for the week.  I have another post I started the other day that I will be posting later on, but this is all I have for now!

Have YOU done anything crafty that you can share???  Make sure to go and visit Shereen’s blog no matter what!  She is awesome!

🙂 In Christ, Bridget 

Responses

  1. I always love seeing what you are "crafting". 😀

    candle-by-night.blogspot.com

  2. Where did you find the pattern for the longies? Is it something I could just make up on my own or are there any "tricks" to them? I love to knit and am always looking for practical patterns. Those look great for the baby.

  3. I Luuuuuuuuuuv the mittens!! Gorgeous!! I was wondering when you found the time…with homeschooling 5!! I have 5, but never seem to have too much time!! And what pattern is that, do you use circular needles, yes? Thank you for the beautiful pics!!

  4. It's nice to meet you too. I've read a few of your posts on Susannah's friends page and didn't realize which ones were yours. I love the pillowcase dresses too, but two of my girls are probably too tall now. I guess I will have to wait for the baby to get bigger.
    Thanks for the pattern names. I found the Aubrey Doodlepants pattern online and will probably try that first, since it's free. I do a lot of things without patterns, but the results are unreliable 😀
    I'll let you know how they turn out. I have to finish an afghan for my mom first, but should be able to start them by the end of this week. I love baby stuff. It goes so fast!

  5. love the mittens. Beautiful colors. I would like to try those sometime. What pattern are you using? I am waiting to try the doodle pants. I had to order the right size needles. Can hardly wait to get started. Love your pics

  6. Your knitting amazes me everytime I see it! I love the longies. I want to make some for my girls this winter.

    Your mittens are wonderful too! I made my first pair of fingerless gloves recently. They are ugly, but my dh uses them. Do you have any helpful hints on how to avoid getting a hole between the thumb and and part? I ended up having holes between all of the fingers, and had to sew them together. I have pictures of my projects on my ravelry page (in case you'd like to see… http://www.ravelry.com/projects/nimbleknits).

    Ali

  7. I love the all the mittens stacked together. Oh urg…. I want lots of kids with cute mittens!!! Ok so I just want a lot of kids but the cute mittens would be an added bonus. Maybe by the time I have lots of kids I will be able to knit!! Ya dressed yet????

    Emily


Leave a Reply

Categories

