Posted by: purityseekers | August 27, 2007

I was tagged…

I am still on a blogging "break" of sorts, but wanted to post an entry because I was tagged by:

Psalm 127

1. What is your schools name and why?

I am not going to say just because it is both my last name and my oldest son’s last name… put together with a slash like "Smith/Jones Christian Academy".  I chose that just to include all of my kids and then show that we are a Christian based home school 🙂

2. How is your weather today?

Sunny but on the cooler side

3. What steals your joy?

Honestly, lately it would have to be the computer!  Many other things steal my joy too, but most are things I can easily pray about and let God handle them.  The computer just robs me of all the REAL joys in life when I am sitting here too addicted!!! 

 

4. Name 5 blessings you received this week.

  1. spending the whole week with my niece and her 2 kids (while her husband was away for his 2 week army training)

  2. seeing my sister and my other niece more often because they came to see her & the kids!! haha

  3.  having a great 1st week of homeschooling!!

  4.  seeing my husband’s spirits lifted to have started a new job where he will be much more fulfilled!

  5.  spending yesterday afternoon with my family and some awesome friends of ours (John & Cindy & their 3 kids)… at the fair!

5. Favorite Scripture passage.

I have SO many favorites!!!  Of course I love any verses about purity!!  The one on my site is Psalm 199:140

"Thy word is very pure: therefore they servant loveth it."

and any of the verses to aid in guiding children!!  Especially those that give hope to a parent like Proverbs 22:6 "Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it."

 6. Who in the Bible do you think you are most like?

Do you want the good news, or the bad news first?  haha  I’ll start with the bad.  I can be a total Martha!!!!  I am sure she would be diagnosed in this crazy world as very "O.C.D."…but I strive to be a "Mary" in a "Martha" world… and feel like I am getting closer and closer to being the description in Proverbs 31.  I try so hard to change more everyday to be pleasing to the Lord in my role. 

7. The passage of scripture you read last was:

Proverbs 29:15 that I read with the kids out of the "Wisdom and the Miller’s" book.  It’s about the rod of discipline and reproof giving wisdom!  I LOVE the Miller books and so don’t the kids!

8. Have you ever praised God for something weird?

Oh…ya.   Funny, the kids just came inside and said "MOM!!  Benny (our cat) just caught a Moose Fly and it isn’t flying anymore!!  Good boy, Benny!!!" and they were clapping and all so I said (because I just read this question) "let’s all praise God that Benny just killed a Moose Fly so it won’t bite us!!" and they all laughed and said "YA!!!  Thank you God that Benny just killed him!!!"  Sounds kinda weird to me!  haha

9. If you were making a greeting card for God, what would you say?

Obviously it would be a thank you card… but it would be a REALLY LONG one!!!  Thank you for giving me life, thank you for my husband, thank you I was raised in a great family, thank you for my children, thank you for our home, thank you for our friends… and I would just not ever be able to run out of things to say!!!!!  When I got past the big stuff… I’d end up with "thank you for orthodontists, thank you for Double Bubble gum, thank you for knitting needles, thank you for "Goodwill" stores, etc. etc. etc!!!!!!!  What ISN’T there to be thankful for??? 

10. What is the best miracle God has performed in your life, or what is you favorite answered prayer?

There have been so many… but one of the most obvious answers to prayer was when my oldest son was an baby and my husband and I had lost our home (due to his drug use and inability to hold a job) and we were living with his parents. He was leaving to go and buy some drugs and I was upset and he said "you are going to have to accept the fact that I smoke pot… OR you are going to have to leave with the baby and go to a shelter".  I prayed and cried and not 10 minutes later the phone rang and it was my sister.  She said my Grandmother needed someone to live with her to care for her and she wondered if me, my husband and the baby would be willing to move in with her.  I quickly said "NO… but the baby and I will".  My father was at the home in about 1/2 an hour and I had packed up all I needed and was driving out as my husband (ex-husband, by the way) returned from his drug deal.  He said "what are you doing????" and I said, "I am NOT accepting your drug use and I am seeking shelter!!!!" 

To make a long story short… I found out not long after that he had a girlfriend (I had stayed with him for 3 years to be faithful to my vows) and then he was open about her and I filed for divorce.  I continued to care for my Grandmother and was able to get paid by a homecare co. for 40 hours a week just for caring for her and having worked in that field and for that same company before!  God not only answered my prayer for safety for us and shelter, but also provided all we needed so I didn’t have to get a job!  He continued to provide for us by my going to a local bible study at a Christian bookstore and meeting my husband (now of over 7 years and we’ve added 4 more kids to the bunch!!).  God can bless you even through times like that! I am living proof!!

OK…I’ve answered that one in length! Time to move on!!!!

11. What is the most fun thing you have done lately?

I’d have to say going to the fair last night.  We don’t get out very often like that with friends to do something "different" for a change!  We had a great time walking, talking, laughing, eating, stepping in cow manure, people watching, watching a demolition derby, etc.  It was great!

12. How did you choose your screen name?

PURITYSEEKERS… because that’s what we are.  We aren’t perfect by any means… and will never be 100% pure…but we can always strive to live AS pure as possible in this sinful world!!

Now…choose five people to tag.

Ok… here goes…

Babean

Robin

Raising Three Little Men

KayinPA

Fish In My Hair

Responses

  1. I really enjoyed reading that! Thanks for sharing it with all of us. I am glad you have had a nice week.
    Stacy

  2. Hi, I posted my tag. I like the testimony about your miracle!

  3. Ah Ha! Another thing in common. (this might be long). I too was married previously. I got married at 18 to a "christian" guy I had dated for 2 years. Yes I know I was young….. Anyway. We got married in Dec of 2000 and moved into an apartment complex. By May of 01 he was beginning to act strange. It got progressively worse. He would be out late, not answer his phone, lie about where he was. He would even go days without talking to me despite my begging and crying. We bought a house in August and things got worse. He stayed out more and lied more. He left me alone one night and I was so scared I got in the car and just drove around. I ended up at our old apt complex and lo and behold there was his car. I had had my concerns about a girl who lived in the building so I knew why he was there. I waited outside for over an hour. He wouldn't answer his phone. When he came out he didn't act surprised that I was there. He forced me in the car with him… I begged and pleaded (again) for counseling, repentance, sorrow, something but nothing other than he could do as he pleased and there was nothing between them blah blah blah but when it came down to it he was not going to leave her alone. So I moved back in with my parents. After talking, we decided to divorce. He is now married to her (for like 5 years) and they have a child but she's just a friend. : ) I will say this. He called me a couple of years ago at Christmas to say he was sorry and he made a poor decision blah blah blah. He's just as low and snakey now as ever.
    But all in all I praise the Lord He brought me my real husband. He is more wonderful than I ever knew to ask for.

    Emily
    http://emilyswhatsoeverthings.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

