Posted by: purityseekers | July 14, 2007

Sew Crafty Friday and Chit Chat…

You can see that I have changed my blog’s face a bit!  I was tired of the old colors and wanted to spruce it up a bit πŸ˜‰

I might still change it since I am not completely satisfied with it, but I like it a lot better than before!

OK… I’m late for Sew Crafty Friday, which is the norm for me.  UGH!!!

I did a few crafty wafties this week.  My friend, Jess, and I went shopping and I got myself a skirt pattern and then she helped me find some pretty (and SUPER cheap) material!  I chose the pinkier color and made this:

Here’s the pattern… I made the skirt to the right in the middle (pink):

During the cutting process…(I always trace each size of the pattern so I can make all sizes… that’s why my pattern is made out of paper!)

all done!   I kinda like it… but next time I will make a longer one.  This one comes just to my knees.  I was impressed with my "zippering" abilities UNTIL I realized I put the zipper on so that the little zip thingy majigy is toward the inside.  Go, Me!!!  Now I have to struggle to get the darn thing zipped… but once it’s on… I like it!!!

and guess what??? I FINALLY finished my CHECKERED WOOL SHORTIES!!!!  woo hoo…I actually did it!!!  Can you believe it??  I was SOOOO frustrated that they took longer than a regular pair, BUT the result was SO incredible that I am making another one!!!  Since you cross the yarn over to change colors so often… it adds a whole extra layer of soak-a-bility and they are GREAT!!!!  (and incredibly cute!!!)  OH and I did my first I-cord for the drawstring and fell in love with that too!!!  (thanks, Haley, sweet niece of mine, for telling me about them!!!)

Even the inside-out look is cute.  Where the yarn crosses over to change colors, it looks kinda neat.  Haley said we could sell them and advertise them as "reversible"!! πŸ™‚

and these little whipper snappers are GREAT for sleeping times as a super soaker!!  Here’s my little man sound asleep with his "BEE-AH" on his "BEE-AH" pillow…

and I got more done on the shorts I’m making for my friend, Cindy’s, daughter.  I can whip this pair out fast since I don’t have to change colors!!  The break from all that work is nice! 

and typical O.C.D. me has a dish cloth in the works too!  Someday MAYBE I will learn to just do one thing at a time, but I like the variety so I don’t get bored!!!

This is the old schoolhouse pattern, but with the verigated yarn you can’t really see it very good…

OK…that’s it for me!!!  I would stay and chat more but I have more laundry to catch up on!!  My Dh has the day off tomorrow, so I am trying to get this house in ship shape order so that we can just relax together!!!

Make sure to go visit Shereen’s blog and check out what other ladies did for SEW CRAFTY FRIDAY

πŸ™‚ B

 

Responses

  1. Love your skirt, very pretty fabric! Love that sweet sleeping baby too πŸ™‚ Precious!

  2. I love the skirt.
    I have 3 projects that I am working on. I am finishing knitting my second sock, crocheting a poncho for my mom, and crocheting a purse for myself among various other projects that I would like to do.

  3. I love the bright, new look.

  4. Hey I have never commented on your blog before, but I have been reading for some time! I just thought that I'd let you know that you and a few other ladies have inspired me to start cloth diapering. I sew so I have been trying to make the perfect all in one diaper. I am going to try a few things today and hopefully post about it on my blog to let everyone know of my outcome. I'm so excited about this decision and I'm anxious to become a full time cloth diapering momma! Thanks for the inspiration- but I'm sorry to say no 'family cloth' for this family….he,he,he! Lol! Have a great day!

  5. I gave you a nod over on my blog http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/CupHalfFull/355103/

    Come see!

    And as always gorgeous work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. I just found your blog.
    I am a knitter too. I love your photo's. Good job on the skirt.


Leave a Reply

Categories

