Posted by: purityseekers | July 7, 2007

Sew Crafty Friday (a day late)

WOW…I haven’t blogged for over a week!!!!  That is NOT good because now I don’t know which of the 600 or so pictures I should post!!!  haha

Well…I am going to start one post at a time… with Sew Crafty Friday being the first!  Make sure to check out Shereen’s blog to see some other crafties!!!

I decided to try to make a prefold diaper out of old t-shirts.  I found THIS tutorial and I am so happy with how it turned out!!

Although I don’t have a serger (unlike Shereen!!!!!—I’m jealous!!)— I just did the poor man’s "zig-zag" serge around the edges.  It would look SO much better serged, but it serves the purpose!  Here’s the outside: (I used a piece of flannel)

and this is the inside that was made with 2 XL T-shirts cut into 4-20" squares….

and this is what it looks like all Snappi’d up: TOO CUTE!!! (and thicker than my chinese prefolds!  I LOVE it!!!)

I can only take PARTIAL credit for this one, but since my niece never blogs (UGH hehe) I am posting the pix!  I made a brown corduroy skirt a while back but made it too small.  My niece, Brittany (below) wanted it and wanted some patchwork sewn into the sides so it would fit her.  Her sister, my niece Haley, said she’d try it!  It came out SOOOO cute!

She is so creative!!!  Just winging it… she made the cool sides and then a bottom edge to make it longer and a funky rainbow ribbon!

And I got a pattern from my friend, Jess, to make a dress for her daughter and here is the finished product I made on Thursday. (My "Z" is modeling it)  It’s cute with 2 pockets in the front.  I messed up a bit on the gathering part but it still came out pretty cute ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the back view:

And I worked a little here and there on the checkered soaker I am making for "E".  I finally got to the legs and am almost done the first one!  They will be shorts.  ( I would probably lose my mind if I had to make long legs!!!  Doing the checkers is VERY time consuming!!!!)

and to give myself a break here and there from the color changes…I have done more on the shorts I am making my friend, Cindy’s, daughter, Mia!  They work up SO much fast when working with just one color!  I LOVE these colors!!!!!

And I wanted to show you the pattern I got in the mail today that I ordered from MODERN SWIMWEAR SOLUTIONS!  I can’t wait to order the material next to make them!!

OK…I am off to do another post!!

๐Ÿ™‚ B

Responses

  1. That is such a cute skirt. I would love to have one. I'm too short for such long skirts though. The make me look even shorter and dumpier than I already am.

  2. Your brown skirt turned out awesome. Your niece was very creative too by adding the material to it. Also like teh little green dress you made. Sew Crafty!!

    Lisa :o)
    http://www.girl71-thoughtsfromthehill.blogspot.com

  3. Everything came out fantastic. You know when I was looking around for what size to you for the cloth toilet paper, I found some diaper sites with those snappy things, and for the life of me, I couldn't figure out how they worked. I am SO happy you took a picture of your cloth dipe with it in place. YAY!! It came out great. You did an awesome job. I love the way you just try things out, and they WORK. I couldn't see where messed up with the little dress. It came out so cute. I think your niece did a great job adding the squares on the side, and on the bottom. It does look like it fits her style. Normally you zoon through the knitting, so I can see that all the checkers are more time consuming. My mom is coming for a visit soon, and she knows how to do a basic knitting stitch, if that's what it's called, so I will see if she can show me. YAY!! Thanks for sharing, and please don't disapper for another week.
    Shereen
    http://www.w8ng4him.blogspot.com

  4. mom2fur here. Wow, you sure have been busy! The idea to make a skirt bigger with some inserts is brilliant. Gotta remember that one next time I cut something too small! And the little sundress is just precious. Almost as precious as the sweetie wearing it.

  5. Z look so impressed to be modeling that dress you made. It came out so darn cute!! And go me for fixing the skirt, between the two of us, we could make some mad cash. =P


Leave a Reply

Categories

