Posted by: purityseekers | June 1, 2007

Let's talk FOOD!!!

I have taken a few pix over the last couple weeks when I’ve cooked stuff and saved them for one post!  I thought I’d share some recipes and send a link to my friend, Michelle’s, yahoo group called the LOST ART OF COOKING!  Make sure you go and join!!!

First off… an absolute essential at our home of 7 is this Amish White Bread recipe!  I make it almost daily! (I always add 2 cups wheat flour in place of 2 white and minimize the sugar a bit)

And the other day I made this HEARTY OATS AND WHEAT BREAD  and it came out really good!  It is a good change from the "white" and "refined sugar" comfort bread we always eat!!  MUCH healthier!!!

Here it is ready to bake:

all done!! MMMMMMMMM

I have a favorite snack I’ve been making ever since I found it in an Amish cookbook I have!  It’s nothing new… but just something I hadn’t made before.  Instead of the time it takes to make chocolate chip cookies, these are bars that are so simple, fast, & delicious!!

Chocolate Chip Bars

2 cups flour         2 cups sugar

2 tsp. baking powder          2 cups chocolate chips

4 eggs         1 1/2 t. salt        1/2 cup melted butter

1 t. vanilla

Mix all ingredients together and spread onto greased cookie sheet.  Bake @ 350 degrees for 25 minutes!

Here’s some of the ingredients ready…(except I hadn’t melted the butter yet)

All done!

I had made some for the last day of Awana for the kids to give to their leaders!  Here they are all packaged up!

and another recipe I’ve been making a lot (because it’s cheap, flexible & yummy) is Homemade Pizza Dough!  I’ve tried tons of recipes and this one is my favorite because it’s "just right" and only takes 15 minutes to rise!  I usually make 3 batches & make 2 different kinds of pizza and one cheesy bread.  To make the cheesy bread (that tastes a lot like Dominoes!) I brush the dough with melted butter, sprinkle on garlic salt and add cheese.  I also usually bake it in a shallow rectangular casserole dish so that it is a bit thicker than the pizza.

Here’s a basic cheese pizza ready to bake off:

I make a VERY inexpensive but delicious sauce that is the copycat recipe for "Firehouse Pizza Sauce" but I leave out some of the ingredients.  I mainly use tomato paste, water, honey, oregano, basil, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.

and I’ve fallen in love with this cheese!  I shred it when I am ready to make pizza!  It makes about 3 pizzas!

Here’s a snack mix I made up the other day.  It has pretzels, M&M’s, peanuts, wheat nuts, raisins and white & milk chocolate chips!  I don’t let them have it very often… but when I do it is a special treat!

And I love to make a huge batch of pancakes for breakfast and to put in the fridge for the next day!  The kids love pancakes with natural peanut butter and maple syrup!  MMM 

I either use the regular pancake recipe in one of my cookbooks or I make them with my Homemade Bisquick. I bought a box way back and have always used it to stuff my ziplock bag of mix into it!   

and on the back of the box is the BEST recipe to make a "Shake & Bake" kind of chicken fingers!  My kids LOVE it and its really easy!!

For 3 split breast halves you mix in a ziplock bag:

2/3 cup Bisquick mix, 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp. salt OR garlic salt, and 1/2 t. paprika

Cut the chicken into 1/2 inch strips and dip into 1 slightly beaten egg.

Place chicken on greased aluminum foiled cookie sheet and drizzle with 3 T. of melted butter!

Bake at 450 degrees for 12-14 minutes, turning halfway.

(*** I usually end up cooking them a bit longer in order for them to get browned)

Here they are:

and one of the days I made the chicken fingers I also made a recipe I got out of my "Taste Of Home" magazine (Thank you, Jess!!!!)

Spicy Potato Wedges (which next time I’ll probably do like a shake & bake in a ziplock)

Cut 3-1/2 lbs. large red potatoes into wedges.

Combine 1/4 cup. oil, 1 T. chili powder, 2 t. onion powder, 2 t. garlic salt, 1 t. sugar, 1 t. paprika, 3/4 t. salt and 1/4 to 1/2 t. cayenne pepper.

Toss potatoes to coat and bake at 400 degree oven for 30-35 minutes, turning once.

I ended up just using SOME of the ingredients and only a TINY BIT of cayenne!  They were SOOOOOOO good!!!!

Well… guess that’s about it for now!!  Wow…this post is making me HUNGRY!!!  Good thing it’s time for dinner soon!!!

Make sure to go to Michelle’s yahoo group and sign up!!  There are some wonderful women, recipes & tips!  We’d love your friendship & recipe ideas!!!

Love, B

Responses

  1. So funny you posted this today! I was just thinking of once in awhile posting pics of my favorite recipes, and the recipe for people to try! Great minds think alike, I guess! 😉

    I would love to have your pizza dough recipe. I just made it tonight and like my recipe, but I'm always up for trying something new. I've also got an oatmeal/honey bread recipe (that Brenda R gave me) that is wonderful. We eat a whole loaf warm out of the oven, and then the next loaf gets eaten in the next day or so.

    Great post, B!
    Christine
    http://sophiafeiling.blogspot.com/

  2. Okay, upon further examination, I see I can just click on the pizza dough, and get the recipe. 🙂

    It is a little different than mine, so I'll give it a shot. Mine has 2 tbl of vege oil in it, and 1 cup of water, and not sure how much flour right now. I measure all my ingredients in ounces, instead of cups, the pros say it's more accurate. I've got a great little digital cooking scale, maybe I'll blog about it sometime! Yup, I surely will!
    Christine

  3. Over from Stacy's at Teaching Diligently.
    Scrumptious post! You're making *me* hungry, too.
    I love trying out new bread recipes, so thanks for the links!

    Blessings to you and yours,
    Stacy
    http://www.withgreatjoy.blogspot.com

  4. All your dishes look wonderful. I just thought I would share my bread recipe with you. It has been my absolute favorite over the years. You need fresh ground grain and a heavy duty mixer for this one. I also sponge the recipe which cuts out one of the rises. It causes oxidation, and works beautifully.
    Here goes.

    In mixer (I have a dimension 2000) add
    6 cups hot water
    2T SAF yeast
    1/3 c extra virgin olive oil
    1/3 c raw honey
    1/4 c vital wheat gluten
    6c fresh hard white wheat flour (golden 86 is yummy)
    Mix these ingredients just until moist. Let sit for 15 to 20 minutes.
    Then add
    2T Real Salt
    and enough flour to start cleaning the sides of bowl. About six more cups. Depends on the weather here.
    Mix for 6 minutes until the gluten is developed.
    Add enough olive oil to keep your hands and dough smooth. Shape into loaves, rolls, pizza dough, or even cinnamon rolls. Let rise for about 15 min. and bake for 25 min. at 400 degrees. I also make frech loaves with this recipe and add fresh chopped garlic and grated parmesan cheese to the top, as well as fresh oregano.
    For cinnamon rolls I roll about 2# of dough into a rectangle.
    Add melted butter and some organic cane juice crystals (somethingbetternaturalfoods.com), and cinnamon(atlanticspice.com), Roll up, and cut into rolls with dental . You can make a glaze after they are baked. I use 2c organic powdered sugar and 2 to 3 T of orange juice, or lemon oil.
    Just thought your family might like these. Mine loves them.
    This recipe will make 4 or 5 loaves of bread.
    In Christ,
    Geanine


Leave a Reply

Categories

