Posted by: purityseekers | April 29, 2007

Sew Crafty Friday…Late, as usual…

Better late than never, right???

I just LOVE SEW CRAFTY FRIDAY and have been knitting, but just didn’t get a chance to post until now!! (I missed last weeks completely!  UGH)  So I will catch up on my projects.

I finally finished the wool longies I had started…here’s the finished product alone…

and on Baby "E"…he was hugging his big brother after he & my DH got back from a Red Sox game!

and here’s a front view…

Then I decided to start a pair of wool SHORTIES for him to wear this summer!  I started but couldn’t finish quite yet because my niece was borrowing the circular needle I needed to make the legs…

This is the same link to my niece’s blog as in the previous post… but if you click HERE and scroll down you’ll see she knit a pair with the same yarn for Audric!  We will be taking pictures of them in their matching pants soon!!  I taught her how to knit longies… and she is amazing!!  She caught on so fast!  I also taught my SIL how to make them and she too is just awesome at it!!  They both caught on really fast!  If I can get ahold of a pic of my SIL’s pants I’ll post them!!

SO… I HAD to have SOMETHING to knit… so I started a dishcloth…(it’s called the GINGHAM PATTERN) (I’m still not done yet because I got my needles back!!! haha)

 Ok… this was a trial run to actually try to write on the back!!  It was my niece’s idea to write "Got Cloth?". I figured the stitches wrong and so it’s off center!! haha  BUT it is still cute!  And I started a little late.  I would have liked it better up higher!

I love SHORTIES because they will be great for summer and they work up really fast!

Since SHORTIES don’t use up as much wool… I decided to use my 2nd skein and make my friend, Katherine, a pair for her daughter, Petra!  She also loved the "Got Cloth?" so I figured out my mistakes and made them to look better.  I still am not 100% happy with the way they look.  First of all I ran out of the white wool so had to use pink and I think the white shows up better… and 2nd… I think I’ll choose a different letter pattern next time to be more "block" style. 

Here’s the 1st pair and the 2nd pair started…

and finished…  (you can see some of the white letters on mine to the right…UGH.  And I think her drawstring is SO much cuter!!!  I’m jealous!! hehe)

Here’s the back, not perfect, but still cute, I think…

And after I finished those yesterday, I decided to start a newborn size pair (without letters to speed up the process!) and try to sell them for giggles!  I used leftover wool from the mittens I made for the kids this winter!

I ended up finishing it and got it online today!  Here it is…

You can see how small they are…I had my daughter’s Build-A-Bear Frog model them!  hehe

So… have I made up for missing a week???  I have been knitting like crazy!!  It is so addictive!!  I am hoping to eventually start a Hyena Cart store to sell some of the things I make… but for now I will just try to sell here and there online.

Today I am going to start another shortie to sell using more of my leftover yarn!  I’ll make sure to post it ASAP!!

🙂 B

 

Responses

  1. You did such a great job. How proud you must be. Your little guy looked so sweet in them. You are one talented mama. Hope all is well.
    In Christ,
    Geanine

  2. your pictures (and your clothes) are so cute. Oh i could just squeeze the mess out of those sweet little legs. thanks for shareing your handy work in both areas of your life. i just am so impressed!!!!!
    julie

  3. Cute longies! I haven't been knitting lately, but should take it up again. I have a partially finished sweater for my sweet granddaughter, Isla!

  4. Wow! You sure have been busy. No wonder you haven't been posting lately.

  5. Bridget, I hope you don't mind, I added this post to this week's Sew Crafty Friday, just in case anyone missed it since it was late. You can add another one if you have something for today. I think the shorties are SO cute. They look very comfortable. Even though the lettering was off center in the first one, the letters themselves came out really good. I can't wait to see more shorties. That dishcloth looks hard, is it? Thanks for sharing with us. I have to catch up on some of your post? Do you have your RSS feed available so I can add you to my bloglines?

  6. Thanks for sharing your pattern for the dishcloth. I bookmarked it. :o)

    Got Cloth? That's really cute.

    Great crafting.

    Lisa :o)
    http://www.girl71-thoughtsfromthehill.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

