Posted by: purityseekers | April 9, 2007

Sew Crafty Friday (this time… early!!)

I am posting now in case I get sidetracked as the week goes on! 

My friend Jess’ daughter has a birthday party this weekend.  We were visiting yesterday and Abbie showed me her American Girl Doll.  We got talking about sewing clothes and stuff and so I thought on the way home that I should try to sew her doll something.  I searched the internet for free patterns but the only one I could find looked too hard!!!  So… I found this and got an idea…

DOLL QUILT PATTERN

I’ve only done a couple quilting projects and always have used squares so I made up my own little quilt using the same approximate size.  I took the whole "quiet time" for the kids and finished the whole thing!! OK…so my dishes & laundry didn’t get done and I had no idea what was for supper BUT the gift is made!!! hehe

Square cutting in progress: (I used some of little cloth remnants I bought a while back to start a collection for a quilt for "Z" later on)

Square cut and ready to sew…

All sewn

Then I had to figure out what I was going to stuff it with and what I was going to back it with… so I decided on some fleece for the stuffing…

And I didn’t have a big enough piece of cloth that would match nice… so I just cut 4 squares and made a back…

And here I am in the process of sewing the whole thing together…

And here’s the finished quilt!!

Back…

and front…

I LOVE sewing because you get FAST REWARDS!! hehe  I HAVE to do this more often!!  BUT I need to pace myself!!  I get O.C.D. about stuff and it affects my whole day!!  haha BUT… tomorrow is another day!!

Oh, and part of my anti-procrastination goal has been completed!  The one little thing I hadn’t finished and wanted to check off my list… my DISH CLOTH!!!

So…I am ahead of myself!  I am hoping to add to this and show more by the end of the week! 

๐Ÿ™‚  Wow… I LOVE Sew Crafty Friday!!!  SOOOO encouraging and fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Bridget

Responses

  1. What a cute lil quilt! I've done one quilt, and started on a 2nd. Oh my, thanks for reminding me that isn't done! I started working on it when we were waiting for our referral for Sophia (people from around the country sent squares and well wishes), and I need to get motivated!

    See you Friday?
    Christine

  2. YAY!! I am so happy to see that you got it done. I can't wait to see what else you got done. That quilt is adorable, you could have added that to SCF as well, it's so small and cute. I think Nouvelle is absolutely gorgeous. I love coming to your blog to get my baby fixes. lol ;0)
    Blessings
    Shereen
    http://www.w8ng4him.blogspot.com

  3. YAY!! I am so happy to see that you got it done. I can't wait to see what else you got done. That quilt is adorable, you could have added that to SCF as well, it's so small and cute. I think Nouvelle is absolutely gorgeous. I love coming to your blog to get my baby fixes. lol ;0)
    Blessings
    Shereen
    http://www.w8ng4him.blogspot.com

  4. Oh, I just love the little quilt you made. I like the colors you used. :o) And I think I might knit something this week to share for next Friday. :o)

    Lisa :o)
    http://www.girl71-thoughtsfromthehill.blogspot.com

  5. You did a wonderful job! Your quilt is absolutely adorable and the dishcloth turned out well also!

    Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Blessings!
    Mona
    http://blessingsofakeeperathome.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

