Posted by: purityseekers | January 28, 2007

Bootcamp ROUND 2

My house is NOT in order. I know that I did "Bootcamp" with my children quite a while back, based on the article I read from the blog "Raising Godly Tomatoes" but now I see that the discipline of all of us has faltered. I see disobedience, lazy parental guidance, bad attitudes, laziness in general, etc. It’s time to do something about it!! (you can check my sidebar for my previous Bootcamp entries)

God has placed a few verses on my heart the last few weeks. If you wonder why I haven’t blogged much lately, it’s because I have been searching my heart and my DH and I together have been trying to get control of our life raising our 5 blessings from God.

Here’s a verse for you… it’s simple yet something that I read that Michael Pearl quoted in an article from his "No Greater Joy" magazine. The article was about "What Does It Mean To Be A Man" and ended up talking a lot about "work".

2 Thess. 3:10-12 says "For even when we were with you, this we commanded you, that is any would not work, neither should he eat. For we hear that there are some which walk among you disorderly, working not at all, but are busybodies. Now them that are such we command and exhort by our Lord Jesus Christ, that with quietness they work, and eat their own bread."

 

I personally know the effects of hard work. I don’t want to sound proud… but I also know the feeling of eating my own bread. I have been hand kneading my own bread for a long time now and just recently in the past few months have stopped purchasing any store bought bread. It’s very rewarding and an awesome feeling, as usual, to not have to rely on a grocery store except for the occasion purchase of the ingredients.

To veer off a minute… I have started another "Coming Out Of The Fog" entry about cloth diapering and just wrote about that feeling there. (Just haven’t added it to my blog yet) To know I can work a little harder and cloth diaper my children AND get the benefit of being completely independent in that area… what a great feeling!! Although it IS more work… isn’t work just such an awesome thing??? I highly respect the women that find the extra hard work of things like that as a GOOD thing and not an inconvenience!! That verse above just reinforced in me why! You quietly work and have the reward of your labor by producing things yourself, saving money and not relying so much on outside sources. AND the obvious part… more work… less idle time!

OK…back to my disorderly life…hehe. My DH and I have been reading our bible in the morning again. He WAS going to the gym almost EVERY morning and it really was reeking havoc in our life. God speaking to me about why… and although I did have a season of nagging him to death (ugh)… I ended up just speaking from my heart to him and then telling him how God has been leading me. I just simply said that it hurt that he could discipline himself to get up at 4AM everyday to go to the gym… but never read his bible anymore. I told him I knew he was capable of more because he is different from many men I see out there these days. He’s so devoted and wonderful and I just felt like he was cheating himself and us. So God changed his heart. I praise God that I have a husband who will listen to how God speaks to me and he will feel convicted and really do something about it!!

Anyway… we are reading Ecclesiastes. My DH said that he decided to because he had thought the other day about the verse that speaks of a "season for everything". Here’s another verse for you that touched my heart:

Ecc. 2:11 "Thus I considered all my activities which my hands had done and the labor which I had exerted, and behold all was vanity and striving after wind and there was no profit under the sun."

Solomon was speaking of all of the things that he had done… he had strived to be GREAT, he had build houses, vineyards, gardens, parks, and ponds… he had bought slaves, silver and gold, had personal singers and MANY concubines. BUT… the word he uses over and over again… "MYSELF". He kept saying things like 2:4 "I built houses for MYSELF, I planted vineyards for MYSELF"… and goes on in verse 5 "I made gardens and parks for MYSELF", and so on and so on. He did it all for himself and discovered this. In verse 17…"I hated life, for the work which had been done under the sun was grievous to me; because everything is futility and striving after wind." He ended up hating all of the fruit of his labor. And I love verse 25… it’s the most important part:

"For who can eat and who can have enjoyment without Him."

We need to be working for GOD… not for ourselves. We need to be working for our families, friends, church, etc… NOT for ourselves!!!

I have spoken to my oldest son about these verses and he really understands. I asked him if he could go outside and catch the wind. He knows that’s ridiculous. You can’t catch wind. So I explained how our selfishness is like that. Always doing things that in the end are useless. TV is useless. Video games are useless. The list is endless. If we are going to "work", we need to do it for the Lord and for the end result to be to glorify God and to please others, not ourselves.

So… the other day I sat the children down at mealtime and started a little binder called "Our Family Chore Notebook". Right now I am just compiling, with their help, a LONG list of every single little thing we can think of that we need to do around our home. It’s been super fun!!! I go around the table and ask ALL the kids, including my 17 month old and my almost 3 year old… and whatever they say I write it down. (I had the kids cracking up over the things I wrote down that Baby "E" said)

Here are a few of the kids things to add to the list:

Big Guy "C"said "wash windows, clean the van and the car, clean the tv screen"

Big Girl "Z" said "dishes, sweep floors, clean up paper messes"

Middle Guy "A" said "clean up toys, clean lights, clean walls"

Sweet "L" said "clean Doras (Dora the Explorer fan hehe), "my room", and "Daddy’s Jetta"

and I wrote down that when asked what we should clean, Baby "E" "laughed at me", "said AHH and threw spaghetti on the floor" and said "Dada". When I told my DH that he said "what…do I smell???" hehe

Starting tomorrow we are going to be getting ready for "Bootcamp Round 2". We are just going to set up some dry erase type charts of "daily", "weekly" and "monthly" chore lists, setting up some ground rules, etc. And the first official day of bootcamp will be Wednesday after my DH returns to work after having 2 days off.

I’ll be blogging about our prep work and how God is leading us through this process of getting disciplined again. I can’t feel like we’ve failed… I just have to realize we are all human and need to take action when we see we are failing. I don’t want to look back… I want to look at Jesus and look ahead and run this race with endurance!!!

Please post comments of encouragment!!! I know my DH and I are the biggest problems here… the kids are just results of our laziness!!!!!! Pray for us to get our lives in balance!!

Thank you!! In Christ, B

Responses

  1. Bridget, you're so awesome. You are so on top of things in your house. I'm the same way, I go from 'highly organized, spotless house' to 'cyclone hit it house'. LOL It is clean for a time, though! LOL It is hard with 3 kiddos, so I can just imagine how much more difficult it is for you! Very cool that you are enlisting help of the whole family, after all, EVERYONE makes the mess! đŸ™‚

    Love the updates, and can't wait to see pics and hear how it's going!
    Christine
    http://sophiafeiling.blogspot.com/

  2. I will be praying for you. You are too cute! I'm so happy to hear that you are doing this. It is such a good feeling to get in there and get things in order. It really does start with us. I will be getting my butt in gear on Sunday. I don't know why I always wait until the beginning of the week, but I do. lol I can't wait to read and see how everything is working out for you. It WILL work out!!
    Blessings
    Shereen
    http://www.w8ng4him.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

