Posted by: purityseekers | January 14, 2007

COMING OUT OF THE FOG~~INTO HOMESCHOOLING…

I remember the day like it was just yesterday.  It’s funny how you don’t remember much from when you were really small except the really great things… or the really SCARY things!!! 

I was sitting on the toilet seat and my Mom was putting on my tights.  It was Fall of 1974 and it was my 1st day of school.  I remember feeling so fearful and did NOT want to go. 

I don’t remember the walk to school…(our home was right across the street!)… but remember walking into the classroom.  Some kids were playing "duck, duck, goose" and the teacher asked if I wanted to play.  I hid behind my Mom’s legs and that is where I stayed at least until we sat at our desks or something.  I don’t remember anything after that.

My Mom had to stay with me for the first 2 days of school…then I was OK.  But… the next 13 years were absolutely NOT my favorite.  I liked school…sometimes.  I had good friends, loved to learn, was from a good family, etc…BUT….I was skinny and had crooked teeth.  Yup… those were my biggest downfalls in school.  Everyone’s got something they are made fun about.  Even the popular, beautiful, "just-right" kids… either they are from a divorced home, can’t dribble a basketball, are slow to learn to read… my goodness even kids that seem to do EVERYTHING right end up tripping and falling on their face, getting caught with a booger hanging out of their nose or something else that causes them to get laughed at!  No one is perfect.  I learned that fast!  BUT I also learned that if you wanted to be "cool" you had to learn to fit in.  You couldn’t run behind your Mom’s legs anymore.  So… I did what I could to be cool. 

I remember my friend, Sandy, and I wearing long johns under our pants to look fatter.  hahaha… she was as as skinny as me!  There was a time I would even wear 2 pairs of pants AND long johns!! hahaha Isn’t that funny??? The things kids do!!  I remember being SOOOO hot wearing them even in the SUMMER but all I cared about was that I didn’t look as skinny as I did with 1 pair of pants on!!  Crazy!!

If I had been home with my Mom and taught there…I know that I would be a different person.  OR… I would have been more like I am now…but many years prior to me getting here to where I am!!  Thankfully the Lord protected me, and despite all of the negative influences and things I did, I was able to change my life and discipline myself.  I am far from perfect… but I am thankful to have survived public school!  I am also thankful none of my children will have to!

Before I talk about my homeschooling decision… here’s a cartoon:

Yup… I’ve had many a day like that!!  haha BUT…I wouldn’t trade it for the world!!

When I was pregnant for my oldest son (back in 1996), my pastor and his wife homeschooled their 6 children.  I noticed something different about their kids compared to most of the kids I knew.  They were more mature, dressed very modestly, were polite, very smart, the older kids were so helpful to the younger kids, etc. etc.  I studied their life a lot and knew that I wanted my son to behave that way.  I had seen too many disobedient children in my life to know that I would do anything to make sure mine were not like that!

I started asking them about homeschooling.  I remember being in the church kitchen talking to the pastor and saying "but I only have a high school education" and he said "you don’t even need THAT to homeschool.  Many people learn right along with their children and then graduate with them!"  That is a sentence I have used over the years to help others be encouraged to keep their children home!  It was so nice to know that I didn’t need to go to college for early childhood education!!  God gave us our children and equips us with that special love it takes to train them up in the Him.

Then I talked the pastor’s ear off over the next few months/years about what they did!  I learned a lot from them… and then as the years went on I met other homeschooling families and took little bits of things from each!

Since I had decided to homeschool before my son was even born, it was a lot easier when Fall of 2002 came along!!  I felt sad as I heard of other people I knew sending their wee little ones off… but smiled that my son was home with me!  I also had the security of knowing that in our state… he didn’t have to be registered until he was 7… so I didn’t need a plan yet.  

But like I said in another post… my son is registered as a 4th grader and I still don’t have a very good plan!! hehe BUT… I have just realized over the years that he is much better off at home with me even if I don’t school him perfectly every single day.

It was an awesome friend of mine that opened me up to Christian UNschooling.  That is the practice of getting your mind out of the "public school" way of thinking and to get a grip of the fact that you don’t need to act like you are a public school teacher!!  Although I don’t UNschool…I learned a very relaxed approach to schooling through reading several books about Christian UNschooling.  

I "came out of the fog" and realized that many of the things we do at home would be considered "schooling".  Wait… did I say "MANY" things???  I should have said "ALL" things.  Learning how to brush your teeth and going to the dentist… Health.  Playing with Legos and building cool vehicles and stuff… math, science and art! Going to get groceries…math & social studies.  Taking a walk, playing outside, running wild through the house… physical education.  My son’s personal favorite thing to do… burn leaves in the driveway using a magnifying glass!  Now that is science for sure! haha

I’ve often kept a little journal keeping track of just the everyday stuff my kids did on their own and I really believe I COULD UNschool if I didn’t believe so strongly that my kids need lots of guidance, boundaries, and need to be taught bible lessons and other things!  I just consider myself a "relaxed homeschool" Mom because I let them do many things on their own… but then do keep some sort of structure.

 

hahaha…some of the cartoons I found just cracked me up!!  That one was a goodah!  (that’s how my Mom would say it!! hehe) 

And I love this:

It’s a little hard to read on here…but you can view a larger one here:

20 GREAT REASONS YOU HOMESCHOOL

There are some really cute ones out there like those… but there are also some very truthful ones out there too like this one:

Scary!!!  I don’t trust the world with my kids.  It’s as simple as that!  Like I have said before… I truly believe that my kids are better off JUST being home.  I believe I could do absolutely nothing structured with them and they would be better off than the children that are sent off into the world to fend for themselves.

I am not going to talk much about debates… I have seen a million of them… but all I can say are the facts.  I truly do not believe God’s word says anything to support sending your children off to school.  I have had people say they have felt convicted to send their kids TO school and I just have to say I feel they have been deceived into thinking it was God that did that.  For God to give US our children and then for us to trust others to spend most of their "awake" life teaching them… I know the God I worship would not want that.  How can WE mold and shape our children by God’s standards if they aren’t home with us most of the time? 

I did some figuring once… and since I am too lazy to go back and check my previous posts…I am going to try to do it right now.

(this is based on my "guessed" averages based on what I would consider normal… where I know many parents do things differently)

If a child went to bed at 8PM every night, got up at 6AM on schooldays and 8AM on weekends… they would have 94 "awake" hours in a week.  If they leave for school at 7:30 and get home at 3:30 (although many kids leave earlier and don’t get home until close to dinner time)… that would leave about 51.5 hours of time they could be home.  If you consider the 24 "possible" daytime hours they could have at home during the weekend…that would leave only about 5 hours at home each weekday.  If you subtract time to watch tv and do homework…that doesn’t leave much time for parents to actually train their children through the week.  And as for weekends…we all know how that goes.  There are sleepovers, Grandparents, parties, etc. Truth is… children nowadays are not home enough to be adequately trained!  that’s just MY opinion πŸ˜‰

Not trying to toot my own horn here… but I can say from experience that many homeschooled kids spend very close to 100% of their "awake" time with their parents.  If they are gone somewhere… it isn’t very often and in many cases the parents are with the children!  It’s not often that my kids go away without me.  I just like to know who my kids are with and what they are doing.  Even if they are in another room playing with a friend…I know I am there for them if they need me.  It’s not an issue of "over protecting" by the world’s standards… its, (again in my humble opinion) a case of not "under protecting" them and risking damage.

Many people say that they fear they would kill their kids if they had to stay home with them!!  haha I laugh because… come on… if any of us are real we would agree that those perfect little gifts from God can wind us up tighter than a drum and we have all had those horrid thoughts!!  Of course we are just "venting" when we say that stuff… but I know there are many that just can’t envision their life with their kids home ALL the time!!  I honestly believe its a transition and if it hasn’t been since the start… it needs to be a heart change.  It takes lots of prayer and work to get that heart condition healed so we can really enjoy our kids again.  AND to accept the fact that there will be many NOT perfect days… but still it is better our children are home.  I believe it’s good for them to see we are not perfect.  It may be a good excuse… but I like to take those times and use them to show God’s grace and forgiveness.  When my kids flip out… they need forgiveness!  When I flip out… SO DO I!!!!  hehe  My kids are very gracious to me because I am very gracious to their MANY "nutty" moments!!!

 haha just had to add a bit of comic relief!!  I have more…

or… I guess my cartoon would be the opposite!  "hey kids… because I have zero structure in my life… summer vacation will be ALL YEAR!!!" haha

I found another that was a little small to be able to easily read the text… but it shows a math teacher saying to the class "if Heather has two mommies, and each of them has two brothers, and one of the brothers has another man for a "roommate" how many uncles does Heather have? Isn’t that sad, yet true??  That is what the world is coming to!!!  If they aren’t teaching it… the kids know someone IN school that really DOES have 2 mommies or 2 daddies.  UGH.

I guess I will end here.  Homeschooling is truly one of the areas I pray more and more people will be "coming out of the fog" into!!!  I’d love to see you all comment your ideas on homeschooling and help to encourage others!!

and one last tip to give you…  on those days when you just don’t feel like schooling… you can always do what this lady is doing (and I’ve done on many occasions…)

to be continued…..

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for this encouraging post. Our son is 3 1/2 and we too decided to homeschool. I know I won't have to start for a year and a half, but I am already trying to figure out what type of curriculum to use…there are so many out there. What do you use? What books or links do you suggest on using for "learning" how to homeschool?

  2. Thank you so much for this encouraging post. Our son is 3 1/2 and we too decided to homeschool. I know I won't have to start for a year and a half, but I am already trying to figure out what type of curriculum to use…there are so many out there. What do you use? What books or links do you suggest on using for "learning" how to homeschool?

  3. Amen, Bridget!! Well said. Having had the experience of sending my kids to public school prior to homeschooling, I can tell you without hesitation, I wish I had homeschooled all the way. For anyone who is stressed about homeschooling their kids through high schoool, or believe that they will send them back to public school for high school, please don't send them back!! It is possible to homeschool through high school. There are many ways to do it. And God will provide! He will never ask you to do something He isn't willing to equip you to do.
    Thanks Bridget for all the humor!!

  4. Amen, Bridget!! Well said. Having had the experience of sending my kids to public school prior to homeschooling, I can tell you without hesitation, I wish I had homeschooled all the way. For anyone who is stressed about homeschooling their kids through high schoool, or believe that they will send them back to public school for high school, please don't send them back!! It is possible to homeschool through high school. There are many ways to do it. And God will provide! He will never ask you to do something He isn't willing to equip you to do.
    Thanks Bridget for all the humor!!

  5. LOL!! Thanks for the comics and most of all for the encouragement. πŸ™‚ You are right on, we need to keep on encouraging each other. The Lord bless you, my friend! πŸ™‚

  6. I really enjoyed visiting your blog today. I need to come back and read more. I, too, am a public school survivor (he,he). I am so glad that my children don't have to have the experiences that I had. I sometimes find my college education, more brain washing, more of a stumbling block than a help. Kudos to you for your decision to homeschool and be one of us, a fish swimming upstream-meaning a backwards culture.

  7. I can totally relate to be skinny in my school years…I always wanted to be at least 100 lbs….I finally gained that weight I always wanted with my pregnancy with my 1st child!
    I loved all the cartoon strips….They had me laughing! I too agree that I am doing the right thing by teaching my precious girls and watching them learn and I'm learning a lot too!!! especially some math and science….what a blessing!!!! juliet

  8. I havent commented in awhile but I have been keeping up with your blog. This really was a great post and thanks for sharing it with us.Sometimes I think am my own worst enemy when it comes to homeschooling my children as I constantly doubt my ability and my commitment to follow this through. Thanks again and God Bless!
    ~Krystal

  9. I'm a Christian mom of three Christian kids who all attend public school. I know a number of homeschooling Moms and wouldn't presume to question their decision or God's leading in their lives, so I was kind of saddened to read–if I understand you right–that you would automatically assume I am "decieved" because my kids go to public school? My question–and it is a sincere one–isn't it possible that God has led you to homeschool, but may lead others to allow their kids to attend public school? I am really interested to hear your answer. Thank you!

  10. Thanks, Bridget! That was SOOO good! Somehow I survived public school, but I hated pretty much all of it! I am SO thankful the LORD opened my eyes to homeschool (even before we had children). I am thankful my children don't have to go through the junk we did and learn the junk we did (and worse nowadays). I have my moments of grief with my children, but I LOVE to homeschool! I love that they're always home with me and that I know what they are learning. I love to learn right along with them. People often ask if I will homeschool them through high school- YES, that is my intention! Like you said, God has given us these children- why would I send them out there for somebody else to mold and teach??? I loved the comics too;) Got some good chuckles!
    <br><br>Jamie
    <br><br>www.princessruby.blogspot.com

  11. Those comics were funny!!! Thanks for sharing those.

    Marie

  12. I had fun rereading this post again. This time it brought back memories of my oldest being in public school. She started trying to pull out her hair and bang her head against the wall. She said they called her Bozo at school because of her spiral curls. A couple of months of the teacher's apathetic attitude and I took her out. She still remembers this so many years later.


Leave a Reply

Categories

