Posted by: purityseekers | January 11, 2007

COMING OUT OF THE FOG~~ AND PUTTING AND END TO PROCRASTINATION!

I thought this was a great idea from a fellow blogger… and thought I would start my 1st main "Coming Out Of The Fog" entry with this since it kinda goes hand in hand with what I am talking about.  At least in the fact that many of the things that I DIDN’T do before were because of procrastinating.  I’d hear about something, feel convicted to do it… but then procrastinate.  Either I was fearful, not quite educated enough yet, or just down right lazy.  No matter what… I wouldn’t take the steps necessary to make that certain change in my life.

This is a link to Robin’s site so you can check out her weekly "Procrastination Station" concept…

ROBIN’S NEST~~ PROCRASTINATION STATION

I can’t stand that word "procrastination".  The main reason being that if it was not a word or a happening… then I would do things when I should and never put them off!!!  I would also have to stop telling my kids "no… you cannot wait to do that until tomorrow… do it today and stop procrastinating!!"  What a sin.  Some may not look at procrastinating as a sin… but I do.  It walks hand in hand with laziness.  For anyone who has read Proverbs (which you can do daily each month as there are exactly 31!)… you see what laziness causes. 

Proverbs 6:10 & 11 says "Yet a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep So: shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth, and thy want as an armed man."

Proverbs 19:15 says that "Slothfulness casteth into a deep sleep; and an idle soul shall suffer hunger"

Proverbs 12:24 says "The hand of the diligent shall bear rule: but the slothful shall be under tribute"

Proverbs 15:19 says "The way of the slothful man is as an hedge of thorns: but the way of the righteous is made plain."

Proverbs 21:25 says "The desire of the slothful killeth him; for his hands refuse to labour."

and many other verses throughout the bible speak of being lazy/idle/slothful, etc… here are a couple…

Hebrews 6:12 says "That ye be not slothful, but followers of them who through faith and patience inherit the promises."

1 Timothy 5:13 says "And withal they learn to be idle, wandering about from house to house; and not only idle, but tattlers also and busybodies, speaking things which they ought not"

You get the point. 

On Robin’s site she asks that you send in your top 5 procrastinations and then check back weekly on a Wednesday to post how you are doing.  I actually added "Robin’s Nest" to my home calendar on the wall every Wed. this month so that I will make sure to go and check in on how I’m doing on those 5 areas.  I even asked my DH what his 5 areas were and so I am going to attempt to hold him accountable for those things so I can post his accomplishments too!  I love things like her site that encourage in a fun way… once you post the 5 you’ll feel that obligation to come back again with a positive update lest you feel like a shmuck!  hehe

So… stop procrastinating and let’s "Come out of the fog" a bit this week.  I’d love to hear about all of your accomplishments!  I am going to post about a woman that emailed me about finally trying my "spinach smoothie" recipe with her kids and what a success it was!  That stuff makes my heart feel good!  (but I am going to post it in a seperate email to link to my "spinach smoothie" recipe!)

The Light is shining in… go… get out of the fog, people!!!  (I feel like Ty from "Extreme Home Makeover"… like I should have one of those big megaphones!!!

"Let’s GO people!!!!"…. to be continued….

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for your post yesterday and today. I am definitely going to check out Robin's site. I too procrastinate…I hate that word! I just wanted to thank you again.

  2. Thanks for the kind words Bridget! I loved your article that built on the procrastination theme. Great convicting Bible verses that I am going to copy down and put on index cards to peruse while waiting for stuff. Your Ty reference cracked me up! See you on Wednesday!

  3. lol…here I sit with tons of things to do and small children to guide and I am at my computer! that is my procrastination! i love a clean orderly home and well behaved children but I do not do what I should as dilegently as I should….


Leave a Reply

Categories

