Posted by: purityseekers | December 21, 2006

What do I want for Christmas???? (a healthier lifestyle… read on…)

My DH asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I told him I would think about it.  Well… after some thought and even a dream the other night… I decided what I felt I wanted was an even more healthy lifestyle.  We have changed our eating habits dramatically in the last year… but I am still not satisfied.

My DH has started working out every AM after reading a book called "Body for Life".  He gets up at about 4:30AM and heads to the gym and gets home at about 6AM.  It’s a good time of the day for him to be able to exercise and not take away from "family" time.

ANYWAY… his decision to start exercising has helped lead me in a more healthy direction.

So far these are the changes we have made in the past year…

*added more organics to our diet… especially fruits with peels and greens

*added raw milk and started drinking less store bought milk

*bought a Big Berkey water filtration unit and we only drink purified water… no more tap/city water!!

Those are the major things… and we added more whole grains, smoothies, raw veggies, etc too.

Now I want to move on to bigger and better things!  I feel we have had a good start… but now its time to finish this race in better shape!  My "want" list includes a Vita Mix, a nice big stainless steel cooking pot, and more of a "vegetarian" type diet.

After reading a few awesome articles at the Above Rubies site… I really want to be a "rebel" like Serene speaks of in one of her articles.  Instead of feeling like I HAVE to give my 15 month old lots of cows milk and lots of cooked veggies (until he has molars)… I want to nurse him more and stop the milk and give him more fruits!  She speaks of the fact that until babies can eat raw veggies, we prepare them to an edible stage and then deplete all the healthy stuff out of them!  She just believes that we should give them what they can handle in raw form and move gradually as their bodies grow.  For crying out loud… I have been steaming carrots and adding honey and brown sugar just to get baby "E" to eat them!!!  WHAT THE HECK AM I DOING????  I was even raving about it to my SIL the other day… now I feel like a shmuck!

If I ate better… I would produce more milk… and if I sat down more often through the day to nurse him… I’d have more milk producing FOR him!!!!  Come on, Mama… get a grip!!!  hehe  I want him to have the best food for him… yet instead of looking at my milk… I am trying all this other foolishness!

So… I am changing my thinking more and more everyday!  I am taking ALL processed cereals out of my home!!  My kids are Cheerio junkies and it HAS to stop!!!  Instead of crunching a healthy God sweetened apple… they sit and eat gross depleted grains that will just make them feel cruddy in the long run!  I like how Nancy Campbell thinks that just eating lots of fruit from AM until noon is the best!  AND lots of freshly ground grains cooked up all yummy!  Sounds SO much better!!!!

Can we afford a Vita Mix??? Not really LOL.  The one I want is the Vita Mix Super 5000… my goodness… it has like a car engine in it or something!! haha It said it runs as low as 11 MPH and up to like 240 MPH… Is that CRAZY, or what???  That is just what this busy 7 person household needs… a mega machine!!!!  YEE HAW!  I WILL get it… if it takes me a year to save for it!!!  I have already hinted to Troy that it would make a FINE Christmas gift!  So I am hoping we can order it! 

I am not one for "New Year’s Resolutions"… but I DO want to start 2007 fresh and have a date to say "we’ve been eating like this since Jan.1, 2007" and look back at how different our lives have become!  I sincerely believe that the investment in our health will show all throughout our life!!  When it comes to our energy levels and attitudes… I think we will all be completely changed!!  I am hoping for less grumpy and sluggish kids, more energy for DH & myself to be able to do the million things we have to do each day, better brain function so we are all bright eyed and bushy tailed AM until PM…etc. etc.

So… that is what I want for Christmas… or rather… for ALL of us for Christmas, and New Years, and all 365 days next year!!

Click the following link to check out some of Above Rubies awesome articles!

ABOVE RUBIES ARTICLES

I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and New Year!  I’ll be posting again before Monday… but just hope you all are having a great week and getting excited for the big day to fellowship with family and friends!

Love, B

Responses

  1. We also are changing ours ways!! And really need to work on the no processed food thing!!!

    Can't wait to learn lots here!!
    Jennifer
    http://www.pjacademy.blogspot.com

  2. We have been eating a lot healthier around here for the past year as well. Recently I've wanted to ramp it up some more, so yesterday I got a Christmas present for myself. I got the book "Nourishing Traditions." I can't wait to start reading it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Candy
    http://www.KeepingTheHome.com

  3. Good for you! I'd like the same in the new year for my family and I. Thank you for the site too. Have a blessed Christmas! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. just a thought on the vita-mix, if you haven't purchased one already, when grinding your grain in it, you will find it heats the grain up quite a lot, and I have read this is not good for the grain becausee it depletes some of the vitamins and minerals. I am speaking from experience with a vita-mix although mine was an older model, maybe they have modified them since then (1994?).
    <br>The Whisper Mill is a nice machine for grains, you can adjust the settings for different grinds. This machine is pretty quiet compared to some others out there. I think it is pretty reasonably priced as well.
    <br>Oh, by the way, the grain would get caught in the spout of the vita-mix and I would have to use a toothpick to get it out, and bang it to shake any excess loose..
    <br>just my 2 cents..
    <br>from,
    <br>a mother of many<><


Leave a Reply

Categories

