Posted by: purityseekers | November 15, 2006

Are you a PASSIONATE person???

I am!!!  I've been thinking lately about the fact that I am very passionate with the things that matter in my life.  I thought I'd take a minute to kinda look at the word “passionate”.  There are many other meanings to the word… but the only meaning I am speaking about is the “enthusiastic” meaning.  I guess I need to be reassured that it is, in fact, a really good thing to be passionate as a Christian.  Many times in my life I have been made to feel that my passions for things were not a good thing.  I've offended, I've annoyed, I've caused debates, I've thissed & thatted (I know… I don't think those are words either)… so most of the time I have been seen as “TOO passionate” or outspoken or come across as “holier than thou”.  When in my heart I just have a huge amount of love for the things that make me who I am.  It's a fact… I love the Lord.  I love my husband.  I love my children.  I love my friends.  I love my friend's children.  I love people.  I love my hobbies.  I love the things God convicts me of according to His word.  I love, I love, I love… and I am very passionate… or rather… very zealous!!!  After doing the study below… I am going to change the wording I think.  There are just too many other ugly definitions of “passionate” that don't define me.  But… this is what led me to that….

 

The Webster's dictionary defines “passionate” as:

“capable of, affected by, or expressing intense feeling”

 

WordReference.com defines it as:

“having or expressing strong emotions”

 

MSN Encarta had a few definitions that are fitting:

showing intense emotion: expressing intense feeling
enthusiastic: having a keen enthusiasm or intense desire for something
having strong emotions: tending to have strong feelings, especially of love, desire, or enthusiasm

 

Yahoo says these things about being passionate:

Capable of, having, or dominated by powerful emotions: a family of passionate personalities.

Showing or expressing strong emotion; ardent: a passionate speech against injustice.

Arising from or marked by passion: a teacher who is passionate about her subject.

I like lots of the words the Thesaurus has as synonyms for “passionate”:

*affecting

*blazing

*deep

*expressive

*heartfelt

*inspiring

*spirited

*strong

*zealous

OK… so I DID pick and choose because I chose the ones that make ME tick.  These are the words that help to describe how I feel in my heart about my passions.  OK… some people may have chosen some of the others for me… like:

*hot-blooded

*dramatic

*steamed-up

*fiery

(hahaha…I can't help but laugh… but it's a fact…I am sure some people have viewed me like this over the course of my life!!!  Even ME at times!!!  God has just really convicted me over the years when it came to how I expressed my passions.  Do I ever get “steamed-up”?  YUP.  How about “hot-blooded”…um…yup.  “Dramatic” & “fiery”?  sure… but I try my hardest to take a good hard look at myself and pray and look to God for direction in the way I deal with and share my passions)

I actually looked up “passionate” in the concordance… and it's used in the bible in a very different way!!  It is a “not” good way!!! 

So… I obviously had to look up some of the synonyms in order to find some biblical passages that deal with the kind of “passionate” I am speaking of.

“Zealous” caught my attention.  That is a word I have heard in the bible before and I have always loved it.  It's just such a strong word!!!  God led me to:

1 Peter 3:13-16  which says, “And who is there to harm you if you prove zealous for what is good? But even if you should suffer for the sake of righteousness, you are blessed.  And do not fear their intimidation, and do not be troubled, but sanctify Christ, as Lord in your hearts, always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence; and keep a good conscience so that in the thing in which you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame.”

Wow… what awesome encouragement when it comes to evangelizing out in the world today!!!  So many ARE going to revile us… and we need to stand strong with Christ. 

My heart is heavy also just to know that even Christians these days seem to view a “zealous” spirit as a bad thing.  Many have the idea that a zealous person thinks they are perfect.  Actually, at least for me, I have been so NOT perfect and God has been so gracious to me to lead me to where I can have peace…that I want to share it with everyone!  I can't agree with everyone I am friends with and act like I do in order to please them.  I also will say things that might put down how another person chooses to live just because I honestly have that strong “zealous” conviction about how God would want us to live.  It doesn't mean I don't love that person or accept their right to make decisions… I just have strong beliefs that I can't change.

I have had so many conversations over the years when it came to “whether or not to send kids to public school”, “to spank or not to spank”, “to be submissive or are we equal as a married couple”, Most have all been able to get to the same conclusion… and those that didn't seemed almost rebellious.  

I know I have had women in Christian groups I am a part of… try to fight the fact that wives are supposed to be submissive.  I had a woman say that she believed her and her husband were one, therefore, he also had to submit to HER.  Of course Scripture doesn't support that… so it ended up a debate.  And in the long run, the majority of the women trying to live according to God's word, they stood strong in the fact that God's word says we are to submit.

I've had Christian's say I am abusive for biblically chastising my children.  WHAT???  I don't understand that!!!  That's fine if people don't want to… but I am very zealous in my role as “Mom” that I have searched His word to find out how HE wants me to “rear” my children.  I love that word “rear”… means to “twist unto greatness”.  (isn't that awesome???)

And then the most recent topic… homeschooling.  I can't even go there anymore except to say that I really thought about it last night.  I added up the average amount of time children are awake each week.  I came up with 84 hours.  Then I figured the average time a child would be in school (based on the time of 8AM-3PM) and I came up with 35 hours.  And like many public schooled kids we know about… they also leave much earlier to get on the bus… then stay after school for the “after school program”… then have to do homework for an hour or so.  So… if you changed that to 40 or so hours… that is 1/2 of the child's “awake” hours that they are not being reared by their parents.  The parents that God gave them to… the parents God has entrusted them with to properly train them to be prepared for this awful & scary world.  I am just VERY zealous when I think about the real truth about that.  So many Christians trust the world to be co-trainers with them and I am just honest to say that this scares me.

SO… I am zealous.  Are you? I feel like I could post a different entry everyday expanding on my passion to live IN this world but not be OF it.  I have a deep view of life & I look toward the goal of being with Christ someday and meeting Him and being found to have done my job well.  I don't belong here and I am not going to have anyone in this world tell me I need to do anything any differently.  If our state told me I could not spank my children, homeschool, etc… it would be time to move to a more conservative state.  If the U.S.A. told me I could not do those things… it would be time to move to a different country!  What ever I would need to do.

Ok… time to get off my soap box again.  I just am obviously passionate, zealous, spirited, expressive…etc. etc. etc.

I thank God that I am!!!  🙂 B

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Hi Bridget! I signed the petition and checked the box to get updates from them. I haven't heard of that organization, but it looks like a good one.
    I used to be a nurse at a labor and delivery and know firsthand (from women who suffered miscarriages) how perfect those tiny babies are.
    Where I worked abortions weren't done-otherwise I wouldn't have worked there.
    It's just sickening how can people rationalize & ignore the truth of what abortion is–downright evil from the pit of hell.
    I volunteered at a Christian crisis pregnancy center for a short time several years ago and boy, the lies(told to them by friends, family, the world) young pregnant women are told just blew me away.
    That center now has a sonogram machine right there so they can show the women their unborn babies and that has made a huge difference in those women's decisions!
    Holly
    P.S. I got the washcloths done-just need to send them-will do that this week hopefully.Edited by ApplesofGold on Nov. 19, 2006 at 4:24 AM


Leave a Reply

Categories

