Posted by: purityseekers | October 23, 2006

Plant a Garden with your kids each night…

I got this idea from a woman, Kristyn,  on my childrearing group… I am using her words mixed with some of mine and some graphics… it is based on Galatians 5:22 & 23 which speaks of the fruits of the Spirit…

 

“the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control; against such things there is no law.” 

 

 

(after posting this… I came across a great article on “Heritage Builders” about a father choosing to stop fighting about bedtime and give each of his kids 15 minutes of his time before bed… I thought…what a great way to end their day… and the perfect time to do something like this!!! Read that article here )

At bedtime, I have my two oldest lie on the bed on their tummies. We read Galatians 5…bits and pieces of the “wrong things”  (such as idolatry, jealousy, outbursts of anger, engying, etc. spoken of in Galatians 5:19-21) and then all of verse 22 and 23. As I say each fruit of the spirit, I have them repeat it after me. Then it’s time to plant the garden.

I smooth my hand over their backs, talking about preparing the soil/heart.

Then we plow the rows (a finger drawing a line down the back), naming each fruit to make sure we make rows for them all.

Then I’ll plant the seeds (a finger poke over and over down their backs – tickles!) as they name the fruits to plant.

Then I’ll brush the soil over the seeds for protection (prayer does this for us)

Then I’ll press my hand on their back to signify the sun’s warmth to help the seeds grow…like God’s love fills/warms us.

Next is the sprinkling of rain…like the kindness of others who teach us God’s word.

The seeds grow (I scratch their backs), just like when we have God’s love and prayers and God’s Word, we grow.

Time to pick! I’ll pick each row of fruit as they name them.

Next, we’ll read Galatians 5: 22-23 again, and I’ll have them repeat each one after me, then the “against such, there is no law” part.

They love it and through the whole thing, they’ll hear the fruits of the spirit at least times…it’s fun to see which ones are remembered first (Patience??)

This has been fun and throughout the day, it helps with correction and praise…”wow! I like how you are showing goodness to your brother…remember, gentleness is a fruit of the spirit”…

 

Isn't that great???  Kristyn's Mom did this with her when she was a kid… and now she is following in her Mom's footsteps and doing it with her own! I am going to make sure to do this as often as I can!  I am going to start by going over the verse with them before bedtime and then maybe taking turns here and there with certain kids “planting a garden” on their backs!  Let me know if you try this!!! 

 

click here for a FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT COLORING PAGE

 

click to BUY FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT STICKERS HERE

 

Responses

  1. Oh, I REALLY love this. Thank you so much for sharing. I think I’m going to start that tomorrow evening. The boys woke up at 6:30 this morning (they don’t nap), so they will be in bed in an hour. (6:30.) an hour earlier than normal, so I know we will be out of whack as it is. I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow.
    p.s. I answered the coloring book question in your CB box. ;0)

    Blessings
    Shereen

  2. Could you please explain what bootcamp is? I looked at the bootcamp days and looked for a link with what bootcamp is but did not see one. I gather it has to do with disipline, but where did you get the idea? Thanks….


Leave a Reply

Categories

