Posted by: purityseekers | October 22, 2006

Sanctus Real…

What a great band!  I don't know any other songs that they sing except “Face of Love” and didn't even know the name of the band until about 2 minutes ago!  haha  I have had the song in my head all day and was telling my Mom how perfect it was that God placed it on my brain!!!  We were JUST talking about how those who are not saved need us to love them and show them Christ in our lives.  It's so easy to judge the lost according to God's word… although they are lost and in desperate need of a Savior… NOT in desperate need to be told how wrong they are for doing all the things they do that are not in accordance to God's holy word.   They need us to serve them as Christ would and love them and lead them to Him. 

 

Here are the lyrics to the song… the ending (which I am putting in boldface) being my favorite part…

 

I’ve seen your face on stained glass, in colored lights
In pictures of you looking to the sky

You’ve been portrayed a thousand different ways
But my heart can see you better than my eyes
‘Cause it’s love that points the portrait of your life

The face of love
The face of love
You look more like love everyday

I’ve read your words in the pages of your life
And I’ve imagined what you were like
I may not know the shape of your face
But I can feel your heart changing mine
And your love still proves that you’re alive

The face of love
The face of love
You look more like love everyday

You are the face that changed the whole world
No one too lost for you love
No one too low for you to serve
So give us the grace to change the world

No one too lost for me to love
No one too low for me to serve

Let us see…
Let us be your face

 

I just LOVE that song!!!  Amazing how a song that just pops into your head can speak so much to you!!!  I once was told to leave a Christian group because I listened to “CCM” (Christian Contemporary Music).  It was at a time that I was in desperate need for fellowship online because we were living in a motel after having major water damage to our home.  We were there for 3.5 months while our house was renovated and I didn't have much to do since I had zero things to clean and didn't cook much… ate mostly take-out!! (Thank God for State Farm Insurance!  I need to plug them here because they are incredible!!!) I needed lots of encouragement because we had to live like that in 2 rooms with 4 kids and it was NOT easy!!   I was heartbroken when the owner of the yahoo group asked me to leave the group because I had brought up that I was going to a “Third Day” concert.  She said she didn't want me to sway anyone to listen to CCM.  That just did NOT show me the face of love, if I can incorporate the song into this paragraph.  I did not feel love… I felt unwarranted judgement and strict legalism.  And if anyone knows me… I sway more to a legalistic way of life… very conservative and strive more everyday to keep our life pure and focused on Christ… so that was tough! 

I didn't mean to go off on a little tangent…but I just love singing and listening to other's who love the Lord~~ speak their words through modern songs!  What do you all like for bands and what type of music is your favorite???

 

🙂 B

Responses

  1. I like 3rd Day, Casting Crowns, Phillips, Craig & Dean, i like Traditional Hymns of the hymnal sung acapella and on my keyboard, and i like Jars of Clay, Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir, Marty Goetz, Paul Wilbur, i like southern Gospel, i like a smorgasborg of music, and i the words make a big difference to me. I do not like rap, or hip hop type music, and i do not like hard rock, but you see, this is the way Gods ministers to me and allows me the grace to worship Him through, my taste is not everyones and everyones is not mine. I so understand your sadness – i used to be in that legalistic zone myself, and i praise God for the freedom He has given me to walk with Him in a colorful spectrum unbound by humanity, but not the stumbling block for my brethren either. I love the love, mercy and grace of the Most High, He does not desire works or sacrifice, but our heart, soul, and mind bowing down in worship which His grace alone provides. Press on in worship my sister in Christ, and allow Him to minister to you along the road you must walk (in Christ of course *big smile*).

  2. I’m mostly conservative too but I still listen to CCM. There are several CCM songs/artists that I don’t find particularly glorifying to God, but that doesn’t mean I write off CCM entirely. There is still a lot left that DOES glorify God. I LOVE Third Day … also Mercy Me, Newsboys, Audio Adreneline, Chris Tomlin, Casting Crowns … just to name a few.
    Blessings ~ Diane

  3. I just heard that song earlier today; it’s great! I absolutely love Casting Crowns!! I also really like Mercy Me, Audio Adrenaline (btw, I was so blessed to see Mercy Me, & Audio A plus Phil Wickham in concert on Fri. night– what a rockin’ time & an amazing WORSHIP experience!!), and Barlow Girl, to name a few groups. I also have liked Amy Grant & Michael W. Smith since the 80’s, & Mark Schultz’s voice is incredible! 🙂 I think, I really like Praise/worship rock or whatever it is called. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

