Posted by: purityseekers | October 18, 2006

Lord, what wilt Thou have me to do???

Acts 9:6…. these are Saul's words to Jesus~~  “Lord, what wilt Thou have me to do?”

     My good friend, “D”, brought this verse up to me yesterday while we were having an awesome conversation on the phone.  I am horrible telling the “exact” story… so I'll just say that I THINK she said the preacher she heard speaking about this verse was speaking at her church recently. 

     I am going to make sure to start at the beginning of Acts and continue reading along to this verse and beyond to really get the big picture… but I will tell you what I got out of the gab session I had with “D”.

     She said he had said something about us saying those words every hour of the day and see what happens.  I think that sounds SO great!!  To just try to remember every hour on the hour to say “Lord, what wilt Thou have me to do??? (wish I had a cuckoo clock!!)  I wonder if our outlook would change with that constant reminder that we should be doing the LORD'S work… no our own desires.  AND… we should be treating other's better and we shouldn't be idle, etc. etc. etc.

     I've thought of different scenarios through the day that might have been different if I had said those words throughout this day.  So many things come to mind.  The way I react to things that happen would be different.  Instead of getting upset at one of the kids spilling something by accident and then clean up the mess in anger… I would just train them to clean up the mess and just talk about being careful.  I would use a softer tone with my voice.  I would not constantly put my housework before spending quality time with my babies!!!  I would plan more when it came to meals… instead of always wondering what we were going to eat.  (like right now… I want to call for pizza!!! UGH)

     I just love that one question… LORD, WHAT WILT THOU HAVE ME TO DO???? 

     What do you think the Lord would want you to do right now???  How about in the next hour?  How about this evening when its time to get your kids ready for bed?  How about when one of them wakes up and ruins your perfect night sleep??  How about when your husband leaves his dirty socks on the LR floor AGAIN?  (hehe)  “Lord, what will Thou have me to do???” 

     Think about it.

๐Ÿ™‚ B

Responses

  1. Very well said, Bridget!!! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

