Posted by: purityseekers | October 16, 2006

Can you think like a fish????

Matthew 4:19~~ And He said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men”

That was what our pastor's message was based around yesterday.  It really got me thinking.  He said that if we are going to go and make fishers of men… then we need to know how the “fish” think.  We need to know what we are fishing for so we know HOW to fish for them, we need to know WHERE they are, and we need to find common ground with the “fish” so that we can more effectively witness to them!

Of course… me being me… I decided to hunt to find some humor about how real fish think.  I DID find a few funny things on my path… but had to stop as it got addicting and almost made me lose my whole purpose for searching!!!!

Here are a couple of my finds… (not to blaspheme… truly… just for fun humor)

 

 

 

OK… but with all joking aside… do you feel that you truly have answered God's call to “Follow” Him and be “fishers of men”???  I know I sure don't.  I know that right now with all my little babes I have a ministry here at home with them… but I truly don't believe that when I am not at home, that I have the mindset to “fish” for men!  To save the unsaved… to lead those who don't know Christ TO Him. 

Immediately my brother and his wife came to mind.  My brother always seemed to just have “the life”.  Ya know what I mean???  Seems like he had all he could ever have dreamed up.  He married a wonderful Christian woman, has 4 children (5th on the way), worked his tail off to become the V.P. of a large company, has a beautiful home, an awesome camp, a great church, loads of friends… really… why in the world would anyone want to give any of that up????  Well… God said for them to give it all up and follow Him and go fishing for men.  He called them… and they answered the call.  They made the decision to become missionaries.  They decided to sell their home, give up the career, leave their family, friends and church… and serve the Lord in Guatemala.  THAT is why when the pastor was preaching about Matthew 4:19… I thought of them.

I don't know what God has in store for my family… but I know He is working on our hearts everyday in this area.  I am thankful that I heard that message yesterday because it really touched my heart!  I am going to pray that God will continue to guide us in this area and that our hearts will continually be open to doing whatever His will is for us!!

I also want to pray that God will help me to truly THINK like the “fish” I am witnessing and not speak in ways they don't understand.  1 Cor. 9:21b-22 says “that I might win those who are without law.  To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak; I have become all things to all men, that I may bey all means save some.”

I love that.  Instead of having that “holier than thou” attitude… sometimes we just have to “think” like the people we want to find Christ and we need to show them how we are really no different from them.  The only difference is that we are sinners who found a Savior.  They are sinners who NEED a Savior. 

And this leads me to one final thought that my friend, “C”, just called and led me to.  (which is SO funny… because it's only a few verses after that last verse I wrote that the pastor spoke of yesterday!!  That is a total “GOD” moment!!  “C” and I have a lot of stuff like that happen… we always are thinking on the same wave lengths!!) We had talked for a long time today about how we are always wanting so bad for others to be a certain way or do certain things differently… but then we look at ourselves and see that we don't often do the VERY things we are always thinking others need to do!!!   We feel like it is just so hard to get that balance you need for everything to just “work” and this verse was perfect to sum up all we talked about:

1 Cor. 9:27 “but I discipline my body and make it my slave, lest possibly, after I have preached to others, I myself should be disqualified”.  Isn't that PERFECT???  We can't be preaching to others about things if we ourselves are so imperfect and not absolutely blameless in areas!!  I have heard so many people say things like “you shouldn't do that… that's secular” or “I can't believe you do that… it's SO worldy”… yet there are so many areas of their own lives that are incredibly secular and worldly!!!  Do you know what I mean?  I have been one of those very people at times in my life and I have been scolded by God and have endured His discipline and now I want to look more at myself.  I don't want to continually put myself on this undeserving pedestal and put everyone else under my feet.  I just want to lay face down in front of the Lord and ask Him to mold me and make me into what HE wants me to be and to just let my life be a witness.  I don't want to run around telling others how they should be living.  That only pushes people away from the Lord.  I want to truly “fish” for men and have the heart to only have their salvation in mind.  I don't want to criticize the way they live, to make fun of their belief, to put myself as higher than them… I want to see the true sadness that they are lost and need a Savior and just gently lead them to Him.

I just wanted to share that with you all.  I have to go and get my household going after a nice “quiet time”.  (which actually wasn't as quiet as I had hoped… I've had lots of interruptions…BUT… I've done what I set out to do and I am glad 🙂

Let's get out there and truly “fish” for those who need Christ.  If those we try to witness to reject us… it's time to move on to other “fishing spots” until we find the best places to “fish”!!!  That's what fishermen do, right??  God uses that metaphor for a reason.  To be good fishermen… we should make sure the fish are biting where we are… if not… time to find another spot.”

Love, B

Responses

  1. lol ;0) Thanks for that sermon. I feel like I just came back from church. No, seriously, thanks for some of those reminders. Some verses that came to mind concerning trying to change people was Matthew 7:3 And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? I think we all fall into that sometimes. We just have to remember to look at everyone through the eyes of Jesus. Look at them they way He does, and deal with them the way He would deal with them.
    That’s wonderful that your brother and his family were able to go where they feel the Lord is leading them.
    Thanks for sharing the pictures, I liked the one of the parting of the red sea. lol
    Even if you are fishing in an area where you don’t seem to be catching any fish, sometimes the fish do get away with the worm. You can think of it a little differently. At least you planted the seed, and maybe someone else will come by and water and sow it that seed.
    I’m with you right now, my missionary field is at home. I just have to live my life according to the Lord’s will and hopefully every time we step out of our house, we can somehow testify to those around us by the way we act.
    Sorry this is all over the place, and some rambling here and there. I hope it made sense. Gotta run and hop back on schedule. ;0)
    Shereen (I will respond to your email during my next break.)
    http://w8ng4him.blogspot.com

  2. Very well written, Bridget!! (Btw, I was almost Bridget also, my dad won out over my mom. 🙂 ) And, you are speaking what I’ve been praying about lately… Lord, give me Your urgency and vision for the lost souls.

  3. It’s funny God has been speaking to me in this area for several weeks now!!! I love the cartoon pictures you posted!
    I’ve been having a deep burden for my extended family who don’t know Christ. God has done some big things in our lives these past 2 years and we have grown so much. I’ve been praying boldness and for opportunities to share the gospel with them, We have to remember we are the light. I know it can be hard to share the gospel, especially with our family and friends but God will give us the words to speak! I pray for more of us believers to be fishers of men…..juliet

  4. I understand what you are speaking about, or should i say what God’s Spirit is impressing upon my own heart and mind. I have found that i pray for the lost, it seems as though the battle is greater than ever, Satan has blinded the minds of the unbelieving, and God’s Spirit takes that barrier away, the trouble is finding any fish that are hungry these days. Not that they are not out there, they definately are, and i want so badly to share Christ, but there is so very much religiousity out there that people can pretty much find what ever they like, and go on their merry way! I guess i have found myself pleading with the Lord to please bring me in touch with those who are searching for Him and just don’t know it yet. It troubles me that mostly people just want to do it “their way” which is no way 😦
    The part about your brother going Guatemala is so encouraging.
    Thanx for sharing the cartoons, they were cute.
    Here’s to us pressing on, persevering for the sake of the Gospel and the glory of the Lord.


Leave a Reply

Categories

