Posted by: purityseekers | September 4, 2006

Let "Boot Camp" begin!

"I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith" 2 Timothy 4:7

 

God has truly been speaking to my heart lately!  It was a few weeks ago that I was searching God’s word for encouragment as a busy wife and mother!  In a day and age when women are seeking "rest" all the time and "time away from the kids"… I am feeling more pulled TO my children and needed some good words to motivate me in this tough walk!

 

God led me to 2 Timothy.  "You therefore must endure hardship as a good soldier of Jesus Christ" (2:3) That was the first time God has had me look at my walk as if I was a soldier in battle! 

 

A couple weeks went by and my husband and I were talking about how we are always inconsistent.  I was laughing to myself thinking how we ARE consistent… at being INconsistent!!!  Seems that we get these wonderful ideas, find a great bible study, want to get financially debt free… but we can never stick with anything and find a good balance!!!

 

Then I opened my email the other day to find a woman had posted an article written by the woman that has the "Raising Godly Tomatoes" site.  (listed in my favorite websites)  It was a Boot Camp for children!  So… I printed it off but didn’t read it yet. 

 

Then as I talked about it to my husband I read the first section and it said "It is a time for Mom and Dad to learn 100% consistency".  WOW.  Is that God, or what???????  Of all the things it could have said!

 

OK.  Now I have "boot camp" and "consistency" that pretty much summed up my desire to actually become a true "soldier" for Christ!  All I have to do now is actually be consistent and follow through with this! 

 

That’s where my blog comes in handy.  I am going to hold myself accountable by bloggin my progress.  I may end up posting our schedules, accomplishments, failures, etc.  Since I am a picture nut…I will also be adding pictures that go along with how I am putting her "boot camp" article to good use!!

 

I was pyshed to find that right at the beginning she recommends the books "To Train up A Child" and "Child Training Tips"… 2 of my most favorite books for teaching children discipline!!!  I am also going to add "Shepharding a Child’s Heart" to my list and make sure to pick them all up here and there over the course of the next few weeks.

 

SO… "B’s Biblical Boot Camp" officially starts tomorrow!!  I am spending today preparing the kids and the house for battle!!  LOL  Last night I emptied the house of unneccesary toys.  It’s recommended to only allow the kids a few toys during boot camp… but I am sure I will love it so much that it will continue long afterwards.

 

At this point, the baby has his "Little People" and a few other toys in his room, Sweet "L" has her babies and her kitchen set (which I took MOST of her dishes away and left only the actual couple of things she uses to pretend to cook with), Middle Boy "A" has his trains and his cars, Big Girl "Z" has her art supplies and her Pillsbury rubber doughboy and girl she loves to play with, and Big Guy "C" has his bucket of Legos and his army men.  THAT is it!!! 

 

I have told them a few of the rules… that they will eat ONLY in the dining room, they will wear ONE outfit that I will wash each night for the next morning, they will each get ONE cup to drink from all day (that they are responsible for rinsing out after they use it), and they will be saying "Yes, Ma’am" and "Yes, Sir" when we are telling them to do something.  I usually have them say "Yes, Mom" but I figure it is better for them to get used to "Yes, Ma’am" instead so that they can be trained to say that to others like their Grandmother or a kind old lady at the store, etc.

 

I feel so excited and also peaceful about this!!  My house feels very orderly already and the kids have been so good!  I know at first we will be spending a lot of time in what the woman from RGT’s calls the "throne room" (the bathroom).  That is where I have always spanked my children so it’s nice to see the same in this training program!  BUT I also know that we won’t be going there as often once I really buckle down!!!

 

For those of you who don’t agree in spanking… I have debated that to death with some people and just have come to the conclusion that we all need to make the decision as to how we will discipline and I just have found that God has that form of biblical chastisement in order for a reason… it has definitely made my life a LOT easier!!  No having to wait for time-outs, having to keep track of how long I have taken a toy away, computer time or tv, and I can get my children to "immediately" obey…instead of allowing that extra "1,2,3" seconds that in reality to be a matter of life or death in some situations.  I learned long ago to listen to God and not "lean on my own understanding" because He is perfect and I am a little humble servant who can’t do things on my own!!!

 

OK… I am off!!!  Love, Me

Responses

  1. I found Raising Godly Tomatoes when my oldest was 3yrs old, and I was at my wit’s end. He is still my most noisy, hyper child, but now he’s got control. At age 3, the liberals were telling me that he had ADD, while the conservatives were telling me to spank my child more often.

    I felt like I was spanking all of the time. 😦 One night while surfing the net for help with Christian Parenting, I came across the site. At that time it was called “A Trip to the Woodshed.” I printed out every article on that site, and put them into my Home Management Binder. (Now I only have the Basics article in my binder, as it’s too thick to have all of the articles anymore.)

    Hubby and I were sitting side by side, each on our computers, reading over that site, and we started implimenting the tips right away.

    BIG difference. Now I have my four and things are wonderful. While I’m nursing, changing, or rocking my new baby girl, my three boys play nicely and quietly. They have also been doing almost all of the cleaning chores in the kitchen after meals, as I’ve been busy. 😉

    I like your blog. 🙂

    -Candy
    http://www.keepingthehome.com

  2. Whoops, I meant to say that I first found the Raising Godly Tomatoes site when my oldest was 3yrs old, not 5. :-s

    I’ve been implimenting RGT disipline for over 3 years now. 🙂

    -Candy
    http://www.keepingthehome.com

  3. Boy do I know about inconsistency……..that is me to a “T”. I also came across Raising Godly Tomatoes and have incorporated alot of it. However, I still think I should probably do the boot camp, as I still have some “issues”. Also, my 16 month old is kind of getting a little out of control so I need to really get a handle on that!!! Well I will continue to check in and see how you are doing. Maybe I will get some inspiration to do it myself 🙂

  4. Hi,

    I like what you are doing with the boot camp. I will have to try some of those techniques with Emme. She listens pretty well and actually she is pretty well-behaved now that she is getting older, but she still has an attitude about things that I really want to get rid of!

    My son is the worst. I haven’t a clue what to do with him. I’ve prayed and tried different techniques and spanked and time-outed (ok, not a word, I know!) and took toys away, etc. Nothing.

    I wish I would have read about this at the beginning of the summer, that would have been an ideal time to do a boot camp! I like it! A lot!

    As for spanking — I spank on occasion, but do other things too. Of course I’m quite inconsistant with it all!

    Sherry


Leave a Reply

Categories

